Virginia Car Insurance (Coverage, Companies & More)

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

Virginia Statistics SummaryStat Data
Population8,517,685
Most Popular VehicleHonda CR-V
Percentage of Drivers Uninsured10%
State Rank in # of Uninsured Drivers34
Licensed Drivers6,056,316
Total Crashes131,848
Fatal Crashes777
Fatalities819
Injury Related Crashes42,922
Injuries66,523
Cheapest Car Insurance Company in VirginiaUSAA

We know that finding car insurance in Virginia is challenging. Coverage is confusing and every provider says they can save you money.

We promise to make comparing coverage simple. We’ll give you all the facts. This complete guide will coverage and rates, compare rates between companies, reviews state laws, and share tips on driving safely.

Let’s get started.

If you’re ready to compare rates right now, just enter your zip code to get your rates.

Table of Contents

Virginia Car Insurance Coverage and Rates

Like many motorists across the United States, Virginia car owners are looking for affordable car insurance coverage. This guide will show car insurance options in Virginia, details on Virginia’s driving laws in Virginia, annual premium amounts, and helpful statistics that will guide motorists to be insured and ultimately save money.

– Virginia’s Car Culture

Virginia, often referred to as the “Mother of Presidents,” is known for its diverse landscape, rich indigenous history and known for the Arlington National Cemetery—the eternal resting place for fallen military personnel and soldiers.

Virginia ranks 34 in states with the lowest cost of living. Residents will see a diverse car population. In urban areas of Virginia, Mustang and Japanese made cars like Honda and Subaru, rule the roads.

Research data shows that the Honda CR-V is the most popular car in Virginia.

But don’t count out trucks and SUVs. There’s some rural and mountainous terrain where motorists go off-road to enjoy the natural wonders of Virginia.

To be more cost-efficient, lean toward fuel-efficient cars to curb the cost of living expenses. A Honda may be a better option. They’re more practical than luxury vehicles, and you’ll possibly pay fewer taxes per year.

– Virginia Minimum Coverage

For vehicle owners to purchase decals and plates, motorists must certify that their vehicle is covered by the minimum insurance requirements or pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) Fee. Vehicle owners cannot receive their vehicle registration unless one of these conditions is met.

The UMV Fee is $500. Once paid, this will allow a motorist to drive the vehicle uninsured at their own risk, however, it does not provide insurance to the vehicle’s owner.

The minimum requirements for insurance in Virginia are as follows:

  • Bodily injury or death of one person $25,000.
  • Bodily injury or death of two or more persons $50,000.
  • Property damage $20,000.

Antique motor vehicles are also required to meet Virginia’s minimum insurance requirements. Your insurance provider must be certified to conduct business in Virginia.

Business owners have special options for self-insurance and surety bonds.

Virginia is one of the states that does allow motorists to show proof of insurance electronically.

– Required Financial Responsibility Forms in Virginia

What are the financial responsibility forms?

Whenever a motorist is in a car accident or convicted for a traffic violation, they must present documents, certificates or assets that prove they can pay for damages or losses. These items of proof fall under the financial responsibility law.

Car owners usually receive financial responsibility forms from their insurance provider and the state’s DMV. Examples of financial responsibility forms are an insurance card, car registration, and proof of a surety bond

Virginia requires all motorists to have liability car insurance or enough money to pay for damages, losses, or medical bills from an automobile accident.

– Virginia Car Insurance Premiums as a Percentage of Income

The percentage of income Virginians on car insurance has been consistently low over the last few years, but the state has seen more than two percent increase to the amount of money spent on car insurance coverage.

The data shown below projects a slight increase in three years.

StatesFull Coverage
2012
Disposable
Income 2012
Insurance as %
of Income 2012
Full Coverage
2013
Disposable
Income 2013
Insurance as %
of Income 2013
Full Coverage
2014
Disposable
Income 2014
Insurance as %
of Income 2014
Virginia$781$43,6851.79%$809$42,4741.91%$836$43,9041.90%
North Carolina$720$34,8142.07%$740$33,7102.19%$768$35,0992.19%
Tennessee$795$35,9162.21%$829$35,6682.33%$856$36,9092.32%
U.S. Average$899$39,3832.32%$923$39,1032.39%$944$40,7262.29%

Although Virginia’s percentage of disposable income is much lower than the U.S. average, there’s a steady increase as the years progress.

In 2012, the percentage of income from car insurance coverage was much lower than in 2014. Surrounding states such as North Carolina and Tennessee also saw a percent increase in car insurance coverage, but Virginia’s percentage of disposable income was slightly lower.

Compared to the national average, Virginia was still considered one of the states with moderate use of disposable income percentage.

Rising costs, higher wages and taxes contribute to car insurance coverage rates as well.

Use this tool to calculate how current insurance rates affect your disposable income

The Census American Community Survey (ACS) reported that the average household income for Virginia was $71,535. The average US household income stands at $60,336, which puts Virginia $11,199 higher than the national median household income.

Based on the 2017 data provided by the US Census ACS, new and current residents of Virginia spent 4.2 percent of their disposable income on car insurance coverage.

Recently, the average annual rates of insurance providers in Virginia are between $1200 and $3,000.

Be advised, these averages may not reflect the full coverage amounts that are calculated when you sign up for an insurance policy. Browse insurance providers and their policies to meet your needs and budget.

Most of the averages are based on minimum to moderate-level coverage, which are policies that most popular for insurance providers.

The price of insurance premiums depends on the number of people on the insurance policy, the age of the driver(s), the driver’s marital status, and the driver’s gender.

– Core Coverage in Virginia

We mentioned liability, collision, full and comprehensive rates earlier on. Let’s compare them to the national average in a span of a few years.

Types of Coverage in Virginia20152014201320122011Combined Coverage Average
Collision$281$274$264$254$252$265
Comprehensive$137$135$130$125$123$130
Liability$426$428$416$401$395$413
Full$843$836$809$781$769$808

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) data above is Virginia’s minimum coverage rates. Just like the percentage of disposable income, the average premiums have slightly risen since 2011. Full coverage remained the most expensive coverage out of the four types of insurance in the data.

Virginia motorists likely saved money with minimum coverage combined with comprehensive or collision insurance coverage.

The combined averages show the minimum amount of money Virginians paid for car insurance coverage.

– Additional Liability

NAIC doesn’t list any personal injury protection loss ratios in their recent Virginia report, but they do list the medical payments and uninsured/underinsured data.

The loss ratio explains how much money a company spends on different types of claims in comparison to how much money they make. For example, if a company has a loss ratio of 40, that means they spent $40 on claims out every $100 earned in premiums.

Ratios close to 100 indicate that the insurance company is paying out claims. Also, the ratios will show if a car insurance company is doing poorly.

Loss Ratio201520142013
Medical Payments67.1269.1376.96
Uninsured/Underinsured74.8972.9569.58

From the data, we see car insurance companies in Virginia are doing well in terms of paying claims and earning money.

– Add-ons, Endorsements and Riders

– Male and Female Coverage Rates in Virginia

Yes. To be clear, insurance companies cannot deny anyone car insurance because of these factors. If an insurance company does deny you coverage, they must tell you why.

Insurance companies consider statistical data and will charge premiums based on the age, gender, and marital status of a driver.

This table is a view of Virginia’s top car insurance companies and their estimates on what their annual rates are for a driver by demographics.

CompanySingle 17-year old femaleSingle 17-year old maleSingle 25-year old femaleSingle 25-year old maleMarried 35-year old femaleMarried 35-year old maleMarried 60-year old femaleMarried 60-year old male
Allstate$6,396.46$7,347.87$2,657.43$2,658.75$2,042.71$1,927.39$2,031.96$2,031.96
GEICO$3,138.15$4,204.21$1,714.05$1,694.63$1,474.02$1,470.60$1,398.20$1,398.20
Nationwide$3,416.59$4,404.98$1,582.01$1,722.41$1,434.40$1,443.10$1,272.72$1,307.89
Progressive$5,745.36$6,458.02$1,518.75$1,551.92$1,253.97$1,191.17$1,132.78$1,136.43
State Farm$4,201.32$5,274.60$1,572.89$1,810.26$1,391.16$1,391.16$1,254.98$1,254.98
USAA$3,443.74$4,098.09$1,436.42$1,578.62$1,116.18$1,099.39$1,043.95$1,050.74

The annual rate for a 17-year-old male driver insured with Allstate in Virginia is $7,347.87. The annual rate for a 17-year-old female driver at Allstate is $6,396.46. As drivers get older, those rates decrease.

– Cheapest Coverage in Virginia by ZIP Code

Virginia residents may pay more or less on car insurance coverage based on where they live. Here are some rough estimates from car insurance companies for affordable car insurance coverage in your by zip code area. Look for your zip code in the tables to locate the average rate in your local area.

Most Expensive Zip Codes in VirginiaCityAverage by Zip CodeMost Expensive CompanyMost Expensive Rate2nd Most Expensive Company2nd Most Expensive RateCheapest CompanyCheapest Rate2nd Cheapest Company2nd Cheapest Rate
22312ALEXANDRIA$2,871.02Allstate$4,305.77Progressive$2,992.08USAA$2,205.48GEICO$2,352.28
22041FALLS CHURCH$2,857.11Allstate$4,305.77State Farm$3,156.56GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,206.52
22151SPRINGFIELD$2,855.79Allstate$4,388.84Progressive$2,953.33USAA$2,169.90GEICO$2,352.28
22311ALEXANDRIA$2,838.20Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$3,141.18GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,206.52
22003ANNANDALE$2,834.25Allstate$4,397.33Progressive$2,945.54GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,178.61
22150SPRINGFIELD$2,816.60Allstate$4,305.77Progressive$2,910.33USAA$2,055.48GEICO$2,351.37
22309ALEXANDRIA$2,806.21Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,940.41USAA$2,251.53GEICO$2,351.37
23222RICHMOND$2,800.69Allstate$3,544.83State Farm$3,154.85USAA$2,137.93Nationwide$2,628.11
22153SPRINGFIELD$2,797.16Allstate$4,231.92State Farm$2,879.87USAA$2,060.19GEICO$2,351.37
22060FORT BELVOIR$2,794.01Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,917.93USAA$2,057.33GEICO$2,351.37
22306ALEXANDRIA$2,788.85Allstate$4,184.46Progressive$2,840.81USAA$2,131.22GEICO$2,351.37
22079LORTON$2,786.19Allstate$4,348.02State Farm$2,857.77USAA$2,121.40GEICO$2,351.37
22044FALLS CHURCH$2,777.26Allstate$4,077.51State Farm$2,967.14GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,208.46
22081MERRIFIELD$2,776.35Allstate$4,348.02Progressive$2,975.48GEICO$2,017.21USAA$2,121.40
22015BURKE$2,773.79Allstate$4,220.49Progressive$2,890.07GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,159.44
22103WEST MCLEAN$2,771.74Allstate$4,110.52Progressive$2,848.04USAA$2,170.66GEICO$2,403.36
22304ALEXANDRIA$2,762.26Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,835.49USAA$2,155.94GEICO$2,352.28
22152SPRINGFIELD$2,751.29Allstate$4,220.49Progressive$2,867.72GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,145.81
22310ALEXANDRIA$2,751.15Allstate$4,184.46Progressive$2,860.28USAA$2,083.13GEICO$2,175.74
23223RICHMOND$2,748.67Allstate$3,590.82State Farm$3,024.32USAA$2,150.45GEICO$2,450.18
23224RICHMOND$2,747.43Allstate$3,411.84State Farm$2,883.68USAA$2,103.14Nationwide$2,628.11
22039FAIRFAX STATION$2,744.30Allstate$4,023.95State Farm$2,931.58GEICO$2,098.38USAA$2,114.40
22191WOODBRIDGE$2,741.58Allstate$4,042.10State Farm$2,784.49USAA$2,135.48Nationwide$2,235.10
22204ARLINGTON$2,741.36Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,721.45USAA$2,138.14GEICO$2,352.28
22026DUMFRIES$2,739.74Allstate$3,998.75Progressive$2,915.52USAA$2,098.46Nationwide$2,235.10

Urban areas residents are likely to pay more money, and rural areas are often left with limited options for choosing insurance companies.

Least Expensive Zip Codes in VirginiaCityAverage by Zip CodesMost Expensive CompanyMost Expensive Rate2nd Most Expensive Company2nd Most Expensive RateCheapest CompanyCheapest Rate2nd Cheapest Company2nd Cheapest Rate
24450LEXINGTON$2,018.13Allstate$3,002.04Progressive$2,054.03USAA$1,638.89Nationwide$1,646.95
22802HARRISONBURG$2,031.22Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$1,930.39USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,805.27
24401STAUNTON$2,033.51Allstate$3,046.63GEICO$1,921.33USAA$1,639.53Nationwide$1,845.67
22815BROADWAY$2,034.01Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,048.27USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,704.15
24060BLACKSBURG$2,035.11Allstate$3,021.92Progressive$2,161.26USAA$1,568.22GEICO$1,665.52
22840MC GAHEYSVILLE$2,036.30Allstate$2,998.27Progressive$1,964.11USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,821.75
22834LINVILLE$2,037.09Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,103.54USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,667.35
22853TIMBERVILLE$2,038.95Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,131.25USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,650.81
24416BUENA VISTA$2,039.40Allstate$3,002.04Progressive$2,080.60USAA$1,638.89Nationwide$1,646.95
22833LACEY SPRING$2,041.03Allstate$2,998.27Progressive$2,007.60USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,806.66
24073CHRISTIANSBURG$2,042.79Allstate$3,021.92State Farm$2,045.19GEICO$1,665.52USAA$1,681.92
22812BRIDGEWATER$2,043.31Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,993.75USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,785.82
22801HARRISONBURG$2,044.17Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,953.86USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,830.88
22939FISHERSVILLE$2,044.69Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$2,027.19USAA$1,623.59State Farm$1,803.71
24471PORT REPUBLIC$2,046.56Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,992.42USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,806.66
22821DAYTON$2,046.69Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,993.64USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,806.25
22841MOUNT CRAWFORD$2,048.17Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,957.50USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,851.24
22830FULKS RUN$2,048.95Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,081.09USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,760.97
22848PLEASANT VALLEY$2,049.22Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,037.02USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,806.66
22803HARRISONBURG$2,050.19Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,029.09USAA$1,638.73State Farm$1,806.66
24141RADFORD$2,050.57Allstate$3,071.64Progressive$2,108.49GEICO$1,665.52USAA$1,681.92
22811BERGTON$2,050.97Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,086.55USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,767.64
24435FAIRFIELD$2,053.78Allstate$3,002.04Progressive$2,250.94USAA$1,638.89Nationwide$1,646.95
24486WEYERS CAVE$2,055.76Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$2,023.71USAA$1,639.53Nationwide$1,845.67
22824EDINBURG$2,056.80Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$1,984.59USAA$1,629.62State Farm$1,826.20

– Cheapest Coverage in Virginia by City

There are several car insurance companies in Virginia. The data we’ve dictates that the companies we covered in this section are the most popular by coverage rate and customer satisfactory reviews. In the details below, motorists will see objective data that shows the annual average premiums by city and zip code. Here’s tables that show the averages you’re likely to pay.

Most Expensive Cities in VirginiaAverage by CityMost Expensive CompanyMost Expensive Rate2nd Most Expensive Company2nd Most Expensive RateCheapest CompanyCheapest Rate2nd Cheapest Company2nd Cheapest Rate
Bailey's Crossroads$2,857.10Allstate$4,305.77State Farm$3,156.56GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,206.52
Kings Park$2,855.78Allstate$4,388.84Progressive$2,953.33USAA$2,169.90GEICO$2,352.28
Springfield$2,816.60Allstate$4,305.77Progressive$2,910.33USAA$2,055.48GEICO$2,351.37
Mount Vernon$2,806.21Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,940.41USAA$2,251.53GEICO$2,351.37
Fort Belvoir$2,794.01Allstate$4,184.46State Farm$2,917.93USAA$2,057.33GEICO$2,351.37
Annandale$2,778.14Allstate$4,274.61Progressive$2,842.69GEICO$2,141.17USAA$2,187.52
Merrifield$2,776.35Allstate$4,348.02Progressive$2,975.48GEICO$2,017.21USAA$2,121.40
East Highland Park$2,774.68Allstate$3,567.82State Farm$3,089.59USAA$2,144.19GEICO$2,550.75
Burke$2,774.08Allstate$4,224.30Progressive$2,867.75USAA$2,121.81GEICO$2,211.23
West Mclean$2,771.74Allstate$4,110.52Progressive$2,848.04USAA$2,170.66GEICO$2,403.36

On average, the annual cost will vary depending on the city or town you live in.

Least Expensive Cities in VirginiaAverage by CityMost Expensive CompanyMost Expensive Rate2nd Most Expensive Company2nd Most Expensive RateCheapest CompanyCheapest Rate2nd Cheapest Company2nd Cheapest Rate
East Lexington$2,018.13Allstate$3,002.04Progressive$2,054.03USAA$1,638.89Nationwide$1,646.95
Broadway$2,034.01Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,048.27USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,704.15
Blacksburg$2,035.11Allstate$3,021.92Progressive$2,161.26USAA$1,568.22GEICO$1,665.52
Massanutten$2,036.30Allstate$2,998.27Progressive$1,964.11USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,821.75
Linville$2,037.09Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,103.54USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,667.35
Timberville$2,038.95Allstate$3,017.99Progressive$2,131.25USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,650.81
Fishersville$2,039.10Allstate$3,046.63Progressive$1,949.82USAA$1,631.56State Farm$1,839.59
Buena Vista$2,039.40Allstate$3,002.04Progressive$2,080.60USAA$1,638.89Nationwide$1,646.95
Lacey Spring$2,041.03Allstate$2,998.27Progressive$2,007.60USAA$1,624.96State Farm$1,806.66
Christiansburg$2,042.79Allstate$3,021.92State Farm$2,045.19GEICO$1,665.52USAA$1,681.92

Best Virginia Car Insurance Companies

What car insurance company is the best overall? You want to get your money’s worth. Cheap isn’t always better, and the most expensive rate doesn’t necessarily say you’ll get the best service. So, like many other consumers, Virginians will be reviewing the ratings of the car insurance companies in their local area.

– The Largest Companies in Virginia by Financial Rating

Speaking of popular car insurance companies, J.D. Power conducted a 2018 study on car insurance companies across the U.S. These studies were separated by region. Virginia is in a region called the Mid-Atlantic. J.D. Power’s data lists the overall customer satisfaction and provided a graphic to help better serve drivers searching for a car insurance company.

Car Insurance CompanyScore (based on a 1,000 point scale)Circle Ratings
Allstate8162
CSAA Insurance8172
Erie Insurance8525
Farmers8262
GEICO8454
Liberty Mutual8172
Nationwide8222
NJM Insurance**8615
Plymouth Rock Assurance8262
Progressive8282
State Farm8343
The Hartford8424
Travelers8212
USAA*8985
Mid-Atlantic Average8383

*USAA car insurance is only available to military personnel. If you’re not in the armed forces, you are not eligible for USAA car insurance.

**NJM is a New Jersey company that doesn’t usually offer car insurance coverage outside of the state.

Of course, the national franchised car insurance companies are the much bigger companies. Motorists are likely to franchised car insurance coverage over regional car insurance coverage because of versatility and cost-efficiency.

These larger car insurance companies have made their way to Virginia. Therefore, companies like Geico, State Farm, USAA, and Nationwide can easily make their stake in cities across Virginia. Their rates are flexible, and their policies deliver just in time.

– Companies with the Most Complaints

It’s only fair to list all the facts, even past complaints from previous car insurance customers. The data provided below is a complaint index of the ten largest car insurance companies in Virginia

CompanyRankMarket shareComplaint index
Allstate88.350.64
Erie Insurance94.470.79
GEICO717.050.62
Liberty Mutual (Montgomery Mutual)12.470
Nationwide46.480.36
Progressive510.170.43
State Farm614.20.57
Travelers32.260.09
USAA1011.70.84
Virginia Farm Bureau12.120

*USAA car insurance is only available to military personnel. If you’re not in the armed forces, you are not eligible for USAA car insurance.

– Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in Virginia

An annual rate is the estimated total amount you can expect to pay for the year. These rates are billed to you every month or every six months.

For example, if you’re a 25-year-old male with a good driving record insured by Allstate, an individual-one car insurance policy for the year (annual rate) would be $2,658 or $221.50 a month.

The table below is a rough estimate of annual rate averages. The last two columns are estimates of what you can expect to pay per month.

CompanyAverageEstimated Premium Every Six MonthsEstimated Premium Every Month
Allstate$3,386$1,693$282
GEICO$2,061$1,031$172
Liberty Mutual$2,456$1,228$205
Nationwide$2,073$1,037$173
Progressive$2,498$1,249$208
State Farm$2,268$1,134$189
Travelers$1,614$807$135
USAA*$1,858$929$155

Allstate has the highest premium average per year, pricing over $500 to $1000 more than other insurances in the list.

Do averages reflect the minimum and full coverage of a car insurance company? Yes and no. Minimum car insurance coverage is very affordable.

Drivers in Virginia with a clean driving record will pay approximately $77 to $130 for minimum and full car insurance coverage. The conflicting data shows us that the rate for each company, policyholder, and type of insurance will vary.

Sometimes the average annual rates or premiums fall right on the price range you expected. That’s because your conditions meet the car insurance company’s average rate of pay, which is more common than most drivers realize.

– Commute Rates in Car Insurance Coverage

Car insurance companies consider how much your vehicle will be in use. In other words, car insurance companies will estimate your coverage rates by the mileage a policyholder is expected to travel during the duration of the policy.

When you choose a car insurance company, they will ask you the primary use of your vehicle.

We’ve split these categories into four types:

  • Work Commute – Primary vehicle use going to and from work. It’s the most common out of the four types.
  • Business Commute – Primarily used for sale calls, business trips, or company-issued vehicle.
  • Farm Commute – As the name dictates, this commute is for farming. It’s a practical insurance commute category for rural area farm businesses.
  • Pleasure Commute – If you drive a luxury vehicle, this will probably be your commute of choice.

Let’s look at how commuting mileage affects an average annual rate. The information below will detail how car insurance companies calculate commute mileage rates.

Company10 miles commute, 6,000 annual mileage25 miles commute, 12,000 annual mileage
Allstate$3,283.86$3,489.78
Progressive$2,498.55$2,498.55
State Farm$2,213.23$2,324.61
GEICO$2,022.99$2,100.03
Nationwide$2,073.01$2,073.01
USAA$1,789.23$1,926.95

*USAA car insurance is only available to military personnel. If you’re not in the armed forces, you are not eligible for USAA car insurance.

Nationwide and Progressive appear to be the few car insurance companies that do not charge policyholders more money based on commuting mileage.

– Coverage Level Rates by Companies

Coverage levels are defined by how much coverage you receive from your car insurance company. Low coverage will indicate minimum coverage whereas high coverage is full coverage on your policy. The data below shows some annual average rates for those coverage levels.

GroupHigh CoverageMedium CoverageLow Coverage
Allstate$3,487.10$3,387.52$3,285.84
GEICO$2,142.93$2,059.38$1,982.21
Nationwide$2,173.17$2,052.92$1,992.94
Progressive$2,635.87$2,470.69$2,389.08
State Farm$2,405.83$2,265.45$2,135.49
USAA*$1,930.06$1,861.89$1,783.22

Some of the coverage levels are a few dollars away from different levels of coverage. It may not be a bad idea to switch to higher coverage.

– Credit Score and Insurance Score Rates by Companies

Car insurance companies check your credit score. This doesn’t affect your credit score, but it will determine whether the car insurance company will agree to insure your vehicle(s). Again, car insurance companies must tell why they won’t insure your vehicle. If you’re denied car insurance coverage, one of the reasons may be your credit score.

Another factor car insurance companies consider are your insurance score. An insurance score is a record a policyholder has with insurance companies.

Let’s say a policyholder was dropped from a car insurance company for missing a payment or two. When the policyholder goes to another car insurance company, the agent may ask what car insurance company they were with before. Of course, the policyholder can refuse to answer, but the car insurance company can deny them coverage because of it.

Therefore, the insurance score is more or less the policyholder’s reputation built over the years. The data in this table will show average annual rates based on the policyholder’s credit score and insurance score.

CompanyPoorFairGoodAverage
Allstate$5,122.74$4,127.44$3,405.13$4,218.44
GEICO$2,330.71$1,981.31$1,981.31$2,097.78
Nationwide$2,849.60$2,295.06$2,085.81$2,410.16
Progressive$2,922.11$2,577.77$2,416.29$2,638.72
State Farm$3,818.99$2,365.02$1,866.73$2,683.58
USAA$2,846.06$1,944.48$1,606.42$2,132.32

As you can see, those with much better credit pay much less than those with fair and poor credit.

– Driving Record Rates by Companies

A clean driving record is more beneficial than most people realize. Although a speeding ticket or failure to yield are minor traffic offenses, they can affect the price of your car insurance rates. Speeding and failure to yield offenses are red flags car insurance companies consider when they issue rates.

Virginia is no different. The information below shows the rates you can expect to pay with a good to poor driving record.

CompanyClean recordWith 1 accidentWith 1 DUIWith 1 speeding violationAverage
Allstate$3,111.48$5,067.66$4,643.48$4,051.13$4,274.21
GEICO$1,600.11$2,068.59$3,122.30$1,600.11$2,263.67
Nationwide$2,094.04$2,094.04$3,074.77$2,377.77$2,420.95
Progressive$2,236.04$3,012.61$2,690.90$2,615.35$2,646.52
State Farm$2,433.37$2,933.80$2,683.58$2,683.58$2,683.58
USAA$1,647.26$2,151.68$2,829.25$1,901.08$2,209.40

Strive to keep a clean record. Drivers with a problematic driving record pay more money for car insurance. Some companies, as you can see from the data table, are lenient on their policyholders.

– Largest Car Insurance Companies in Virginia

What’s the largest car insurance in Virginia? Let’s review that answer by the numbers. Here’s more data you can look to determine that answer.

RankCompanyDirect Premiums WrittenLoss RatioMarket Share
4Allstate$523,32554.37%9.64%
7Erie Insurance$205,96469.19%3.79%
1GEICO$979,95071.20%18.04%
8Liberty Mutual$154,40555.65%2.84%
6Nationwide$426,05259.34%7.85%
5Progressive$492,05264.82%9.06%
2State Farm$923,98966.23%17.01%
9Travelers$120,56560.00%2.22%
3USAA*$717,32574.59%13.21%
10Virginia Farm Bureau$115,61259.08%2.13%

Loss ratios that are closer to 100 and not exceeding 100 is a good sign that a car insurance company is earning money and sending out claims to policyholders and other drivers.

– Number of Insurers in Virginia

Insurers are in two categories: Domestic and Foreign. Domestic insurers are formed under the law of the state, and foreign insurers are insurers formed under the law of another state. Listed below is the number of insurers in Virginia.

DomesticForeign
19908

The number of foreign insurers is much higher than domestic insurers.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Virginia State Laws

Virginia State Law is adamant about car insurance coverage and automobile driver conduct. To keep new and current residents of Virginia informed, the policymakers of Virginia State Law have drafted laws for the public.

Let’s take a moment on this guide to explore these laws regarding car insurance coverage.

– Virginia Car Insurance Laws

All car insurance companies and policyholders abide this law each time they’re in a car accident or pulled over by law enforcement, an individual must have proof of insurance. Regardless of who is at fault, being insured establishes a safety net for drivers.

Driving while uninsured can have some serious legal consequences. The State of Virginia penalizes drivers who aren’t insured. Despite paying the $500 UMV fee, a motorist driving without insurance could have their vehicle towed or their license revoked in addition to stiff fines.

Virginia law does clarify that car insurance law does not include workman’s compensation or employer insurance. Employer insurance and car insurance are separate.

For example, if you’re driving a company vehicle, the employer would be the policyholder. Therefore, a driver working for their employer wouldn’t use their insurance company to pay for damages or injuries.

Another provision of Virginia’s motor vehicle insurance law is payments for damages, medical expenses, and injuries a driver endures after an accident.

What this means is a car insurance company will compensate a driver(s) by paying for damages and injuries.

So, a motorist injured in a car accident will have their medical bills covered by their car insurance company or the car insurance company of the other driver. More than likely, a minimum coverage car insurance policy is enough in these events, but drivers should consider full coverage to cover their bases.

– Windshield Coverage in Virginia

Windshield coverage is often bundled into full coverage. Some insurances have it separate from full and minimum car insurance coverage. Normally, it doesn’t come with a deductible. If a policyholder’s windshield is damaged by weather or an incoming object, their car insurance company will pay for a new windshield.

How is this relevant to Virginia State Law?

To pass inspection in the State of Virginia, a windshield cannot have chips, pits or shaped cracks (no more than an inch). Cracks at the bottom of the windshield are also subject to a poor grade upon inspection.

Virginia drivers must have windshield if their car was manufactured after July 1, 1970. Vehicles built after January 1, 1936, require safety glass in their windshield housing. According to automobile experts, safety glass reduces the risk of an ejection if a car is in an accident.

Also, Virginia is one of the states with strict laws on maintaining working vehicles on their roadways. Virginia motorists can expect their vehicles to be inspected. One of the items on Virginia’s inspection list is a good windshield.

Virginia law considers windshield wipers as well, so Virginia motorists should install in new ones to pass inspection if the current wipers are faulty.

Inspections are usually carried out by automotive shops recommended and supervised by the Virginia State Police. Sometimes, If you get a vehicle inspection that feels off, go to another automotive shop and have your vehicle inspected.

An inspection should take roughly 20 minutes to inspect your vehicle. An inspection that lasts for five minutes is questionable.

– High-Risk Insurance

High-risk insurance is a factor that is displayed during the review process of a car insurance company. Some car insurance companies will deny a driver altogether, but if they do accept your application for coverage, the rates will increase due to the liability risk the insurance company is taking.

Expect higher than average car insurance rates if a driver has a record of traffic offenses, unpaid premiums, DUI charges, or under SR-22.

High-risk drivers that are under SR-22 must report their high-risk status to the DMV of Virginia.

– Low-Cost Insurance

Low-cost insurance is the lowest possible rate a licensed driver could pay. As we mentioned in the lists and details before, many drivers want to be more cost-efficient and opt for the cheapest rate possible. Minimum liability insurance would be most effective for low-cost insurance.

– Car Insurance Fraud in Virginia

Insurance fraud occurs when an individual earns money or attempts to earn money from an insurance company by deceptive practices or motives.

Virginia prosecutors, state and local, will pursue anyone who commits insurance fraud.

FindLaw reported that a person who commits insurance fraud can face federal charges including mail fraud, criminal racketeering, and other relevant charges. Here are a few statements that define fraud:

  • Casualty Fraud – this is defined as inflating the conditions of an accident or injury. In other words, faking an injury after an accident to collect money from an insurance company.
  • Property Fraud – this is overstating the property damage of a car accident. Lying to an insurance company about the cost of damages is insurance fraud.
  • Workman’s Compensation Fraud – faking a work-related injury to collect money is insurance fraud. This includes an accident in a vehicle or at an employer’s workspace.

– Virginia Statute of Limitations

Policyholders need to know that the statute of limitations, especially in motor vehicle accidents, begins when the event happens, not when it’s discovered. Law experts recommended drivers report injuries and damages to a personal injury attorney and car insurance company as soon as possible.

In Virginia, the statute of limitations for personal injury is two years. However, if the property is damaged such as your car or home, the statute of limitations is five years.

Virginia law has a statute of limitations to encourage plaintiffs to pursue their legal rights within a fair amount of time and protect defendants from potential fraudulent claims.

If you do not file an action within the statute of limitations, you will lose the opportunity to be compensated from the negligent person, group, or company.

Hire an attorney if an event is too complex, or if you believe the information you’re receiving is out of the ordinary. Attorneys can determine what type of case you have and the amount of time in the statute of limitations.

Virginia is one of the states that stretches the statute of limitations despite the date of injury or suspension period.

Law experts report that statute of limitations in Virginia can be extended if the plaintiff meets one or more of these conditions:

  • The plaintiff has a disability.
  • The plaintiff is under the age of 18.
  • The plaintiff isn’t competent to handle legal proceedings.
  • If the defendant has committed something fraudulent.
  • The action is nonsuited (hasn’t been abandoned by the legal system).

– Virginia’s Specific Laws

There are several laws in Virginia. Don’t stress yourself about knowing them all. There’s no way anyone can remember all of them, but here’s a list of laws that are particularly interesting.

  • You cannot drive if you’re not wearing shoes.
  • You must honk your horn if you’re attempting to pass another vehicle.
  • Police are not allowed to use speed radar detectors.
  • In Waynesboro, Virginia, it is illegal for female motorists to drive their car along Main Street unless her husband is walking in front of the vehicle waving a red flag in his hands.
  • In Prince William County, Virginia, it is illegal to park your vehicle on a set of railroad tracks.
  • In Virginia Beach, Virginia, it is illegal to drive by the same area within 30 minutes of Atlantic Avenue.

– Virginia Vehicle License Laws

The Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia has a step-by-step video detailing how you can obtain a driver’s license in their state. The video below will explain how you can obtain your driver’s license in Virginia.

– Real ID

Virginia has joined many other states in becoming Real ID compliant. Real ID is becoming the standard in which U.S. citizens can verify their identity to airports, military bases or any other entity that’s Real ID compliant.

The process of obtaining a Real ID requires Virginia residents to be in person. A one time fee of $10 will be required in addition to other fees, if applicable.

DMV of Virginia will need to see documents to prove your identity. Those documents include:

  • Birth Certificate
  • Social Securit Number
  • U.S. Passport
  • Proof of Residency in Virginia
  • Proof of Name Change, if necessary

Real IDs look like any driver’s license or ID card. An authentic Real ID will have a yellow star on the face of the ID card.

– Penalties for Driving without Insurance

The DMV of Virginia, like most states, is strict on uninsured drivers. If insurance coverage terminates or cancels during the car’s registration period, it’s the car owner’s responsibility to renew their insurance or apply for insurance with another provider.

Virginia motorists will have to pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee. The DMV of Virginia will temporarily deactivate your license plates until you can get your vehicle reinsured. If your vehicle remains uninsured, the DMV requires you to surrender your license plates.

If you continue to remain uninsured or neglect to pay the UMV fee, your driving, and vehicle registration privileges will be suspended. For a vehicle owner to be reinstated in Virginia, they must pay a $500 statutory fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee, if applicable.

– Teen Driver Laws in Virginia

You must be at least 16 years and three months old to receive your driver’s license. If you are 15 years and six months old, you can obtain a driver’s permit.

If you are over the age of 16 years old and under 18 years old, you must complete a Virginia state-approved driver education program. Also, you must have written consent from one of your parents or legal guardians unless you are emancipated or married.

There are no exceptions in Virginia regarding age requirements.

It’s a fact that teenagers are likely to be in car accidents. Parents and legal guardians save a great deal of trouble and money when teenagers are insured. It may be essential to go with full coverage to cover all the bases.

If a teen is uninsured, the DMV of Virginia requires them to pay the $500 UMV fee. Virginia law, however, requires drivers to have minimum car insurance coverage. To avoid fines and legal battles, find a car insurance company with an affordable annual rate.

Be aware that those rates may be higher than average annual rates due to the statistical data of younger drivers.

– Older Driver License Renewal Procedure

Drivers who are 75 years old and older are issued a driver’s license that expires every five years.

Senior drivers must pass a vision screening test, also. Seniors are permitted to give DMV officials a report from their optometrist or ophthalmologist showing satisfactory vision results, but the test must be within 90 days of license renewal.

– New Residents in Virginia

To be eligible to receive a driver’s license, a first-time driver must provide documentation proving their identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and a social security number.

New residents of Virginia need to acquire a new Virginia driver’s license within 60 days. A commercial driver’s license (or CDL) must obtain a Virginia CDL within 30 days. If you’re 18 and older, you can complete a vision screening test. The DMV of Virginia acknowledges licenses from:

  • U.S. state-issued valid driver’s license
  • Canadian province driver’s license
  • Driver’s Licenses from Germany, South Korea, France, and Taiwan

Driver’s with licenses from the associated countries and states above are not subject to take the two-part knowledge exam or the road skills test.

Also, drivers do not have to show proof of successful driver education program results. However, driver’s licenses from countries other than the U.S., Germany, France, South Korea, and Taiwan must take the two-part knowledge exam, the road skills test, and a vision screening test.

The DMV of Virginia does not require additional identification forms, but they may ask for it. Take any documentation that will help further your application to obtaining a driver’s license.

– Special Conditions for Driver’s Licenses in Virginia

There special conditions for licensed drivers that aren’t permanent residents of Virginia. These conditions provided by the DMV are listed below.

– Military Personnel

Active-duty U.S. military members (including their spouses and children 16 years and 3 months old or older) who are stationed in Virginia are permitted to drive in the State of Virginia with their home state or home country issued driver’s license.

If the vehicle is registered in the active member’s name, it may be driven with out-of-state license plates, but the active member must the sole owner of the vehicle. Any co-owner of the vehicle must be active military members in the U.S. Armed Forces. If not, the vehicle must be registered with the State of Virginia. A Virginia issued driver’s license is not required.

– Out-of-State Students

Full-time students with no job and a permanent resident out of the state of Virginia are permitted to drive with their home state driver’s license and home state license plate. If the student’s driver’s license or plates are from another country (such as Canada or Taiwan), the vehicle is still permitted on the roadways of Virginia.

A full-time student that’s employed in Virginia is considered a resident of Virginia. It does not qualify the student for in-state tuition. Also, the student must apply for a license plate(s) and register their vehicle in Virginia. DMV of Virginia agents recommended that the car be registered regardless of who owns the vehicle.

– Non-Residents

Like a college student, non-residents living in Virginia are permitted to use their home state driver’s license or the license of your home country.

The State of Virginia will only permit non-residents to use their out-of-state or out-of-country driver’s license for six months. CDL holders are exempt from this. Non-residents who become employed in Virginia are required to have a Virginia driver’s license.

– License Renewal Procedure

The DMV of Virginia has provided a video on how its motorists can renew their driver’s licenses online.

Can’t renew online? You can always visit a local DMV in Virginia. Be sure to take all the necessary documents such as your old driver’s license and a copy of your current car insurance policy just in case a DMV official asks for it.

The license fee for a renewed, eight-year license is $32.

– How to Get Your License Back in Virginia

This video overview will explain how Virginia motorists can reinstate a suspended, disqualified or revoked driver’s license and registration.

– Virginia License Reinstatement Procedure

The State of Virginia has taken your license, or perhaps, another state has taken your right to carry a license to drive. What do you do now?

First, you have to determine the type of restriction is on your driving privileges.

The DMV of Virginia states that restrictions on driving privileges may be enforced by a court, social services departments, or DMV. Drivers who lost their driving privileges in another state must meet the requirements for reinstatement of the other state in which they lost the privilege to drive.

Your restrictions are based on the nature of the violation committed. Courts, social service departments, and the DMV can suspend, revoke, and disqualify driving privileges.

Let’s review the different restrictions in Virginia.

– Suspension

When a driver has their license suspended, it means their driving privileges have been temporarily withdrawn. The DMV of Virginia requires drivers to comply with their terms of reinstatement to get your license back.

Suspension of your license can happen for these reasons:

  • Improper insurance coverage. Car insurance coverage is required for all vehicles carrying a Virginia license plate. Also, a driver could have their license suspended for not paying the $500 UMV fee.
  • Incomplete or failure to complete driver improvement clinic,
  • Missing, late, or failure to pay child support.
  • Neglecting to pay prison fees.
  • A reckless driving conviction, which is handed down by Virginia court.
  • Giving alcohol to minors or a person who’s already intoxicated.
  • Too many points on your licenses. DMV officials identify them as demerit points. A driver accumulates demerit points when they are convicted of traffic violations.
  • Conditions that render a driver physically or mentally unable to drive a motor vehicle.
  • Failure to comply with a judgment that relates to an automobile accident.

– Revocation

Revocation is when a driver’s privilege to drive has been terminated completely in Virginia.

Drivers who permanently banned from Virginia roadways have to inquire about the DMV for reinstatement. Reinstatement involves taking the knowledge and skill tests in addition to paying for a new license. Revocation often occurs when a driver has committed a severe traffic violation or criminal offense(s) such as:

  • Driving while Impaired (DWI) or Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI)
  • Driving while license is suspended or revoked as a result of DUI or DWI (i.e. driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol)
  • Involuntary or voluntary manslaughter using a motor vehicle
  • Impersonating a person to renew a driver’s license or taking a driver’s license test under someone else’s name.
  • Giving false information to obtain a license or Drug violations
  • Making a bomb threat (serious or not, the State of Virginia will revoke driver privileges)
  • Felony charges where a motor vehicle was used in the crime
  • Refusing to stop and identify yourself at the scene of a crash you were involved in.
  • Receiving three demerit point convictions committed while under the age of 18. This includes, but not limited, to child restraint and safety belt violations.

– Disqualification

Depending on the traffic violation or criminal offense, the disqualification of a license can result in temporary or complete termination of driving privilege in the State of Virginia. Disqualification is equivalent to suspension and revocation, and it doesn’t a driver’s privileges unless they are convicted of a traffic violation or criminal offense.

Disqualification is mainly for CDL drivers who have violated the driving laws of Virginia. CDL disqualifications are handled by state and federal law.

Also, CDL disqualifications affect drivers who have violated Virginia’s driving laws while operating a privately-owned commercial motor vehicle (CMV).

Both bodies separate CDL offenses in four types, which are:

  • Major Offenses: DUI or DWI, leaving the scene of an accident, and causing a fatal crash due to the negligent driving operation of a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
  • Railroad-Highway Grade Crossing Offenses: failure to stop or slow down at a railroad crossing. It’s required by law that drivers stop or slow down at railroad crossings. Disregard of a traffic control device or enforcement official at railroad crossings. Failure to negotiate a clear crossing because of insufficient cargo. For example, a CDL holder who does not attempt to communicate with enforcement officials to ensure they have a clear path to cross a railroad because of “insufficient undercarriage.”
  • Serious Offenses: speeding, reckless driving, erratic and improper lane change and operating a CMV with a CDL.
  • Violations of Out-of-Service Orders: operating an out-of-service CMV that’s been marked as a danger to public safety by authorized motor vehicle enforcement officials.

– What You Need to Get a Virginia Driver’s License Reinstated

Requirements for reinstatement vary. Each circumstance is different for everyone. There’s no one procedure to follow, however, there are motorists who lost their driving privileges in Virginia that will need to provide documents that comply with reinstatement requirements.

Documents of proof a driver will need to show the DMV but won’t have to appear in person to prove:

  • Certification of Insurance (SR22 or FR44) from an insurance company that’s licensed to do business in the State of Virginia
  • Attend a driver improvement clinic
  • Proof of enrollment in a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP). Mainly for drivers with DUI convictions. Virginia requires enrollees to complete the VASAP program and have an intervention interview with VASAP officials.
  • Obtain a medical or vision report from health officials
  • Comply with social service orders regarding child support payments
  • Proof that local correctional facility fees have been paid
  • Proof of car insurance coverage policy
  • Proof of payment of licensing fees. This includes DMV reinstatement fees (prices range from $40 to $220).
  • Proof that a previous judgment of a car accident has been settled or paid in full.

The DMV will require a driver to come into their offices when they need proof of identification, legal presence, or residency. Also, the driver will have to take knowledge, road skills and vision tests. Most reinstatements of this degree is often a response to a court order allowing restricted driving privileges to be lifted.

Since circumstances vary, the DMV of Virginia encourages each restricted driver to request a personal driver transcript and a compliance summary. Visit the Virginia DMV reinstatement webpage to get pay fees or obtain a driver transcript and compliance summary.

– Rules of the Road

Following the rules of the road is common knowledge among drivers across the U.S. But there are several details that many motorists miss in Virginia. This section will explain further details about Virginia’s rules on the road, types of law regarding fault, seat belt and child safety seat laws, speed limits, and other factors that are vital to safe commuting on the roadways.

– Fault vs. No-Fault

Is Virginia a Comparative Negligence State?

No. Virginia follows the contributory negligence law.

Contributory negligence means that a party must be without fault to be compensated for damages. If a plaintiff or defendant has a fraction of fault in a car accident that caused injury or property damage, they will be prohibited from receiving compensation from the other.

Prince Benowitz LLP gives these examples that describe contributory negligence:

  • “Someone was hit by an oncoming car that had strayed over into their lane, but they were driving ten miles an hour over the speed limit.”
  • “Someone was in a car accident with a drunk driver and was injured seriously, but they were not following one of the basic rules of the road.”
  • “Someone was walking across the street and hit by a car, but they failed to look for oncoming traffic before crossing or were crossing outside the rules of a controlled intersection.”

Another essential to driving in the State of Virginia is obtaining a driver’s license. No matter what state or county a driver is in, the vehicle operator must have some type of identification that verifies driving privileges.

– Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws

All drivers and passengers who are 18 and older must use a seat belt in a motor vehicle. Riding in a truck’s cargo is only permitted for individuals who 16 and older.

We’ve put together a table to summarize the highlights of Virginia seat belt and car seat law.

Initial effective datePrimary enforcement?Who is covered? In what seats?Maximum base fine 1st offense, additional fees may applyMust be in child safety seatAdult belt permissibleMaximum base fine 1st offense, additional fees may applyPreference for rear seat
1/1/1988no18+ years in front seat$25younger than 2 years in a rear-facing child restraint or until the child reaches the minimum weight limit for a forward facing child safety seat as prescribed by the manufacturer; 7 years and younger in a child safety seat8 through 17 yearsFootnote22$50children in rear-facing devices must be in a rear seat if available; if not available, they may be placed in front only if front passenger airbag is deactivated

Seat belt laws were established in early 1988. The maximum a Virginia will pay for violating the seat belt law is $50, which much higher and sometimes much less than other U.S. states.

– Keep Right and Move Over Laws

Virginia shares the keep right, move over laws on its roadways. The law in Virginia often refers to it as it yielding to traffic. The keep right law in Virginia states that motorists need to move right so they don’t block traffic on the left. lane, which allows motorists, who are going at a much faster and legal speed, to pass.

– Speed Limits

Virginia isn’t without speed limit law. These are the speed limits you’re likely to see in Virginia.

Rural interstates (mph)Urban interstates (mph)Other limited access roads (mph)Other roads (mph)
70706555

Virginia is home to a lot of roadways.

All interstates are 70 mph.

Residential and commercials, of course, will have speed limits less than 55 mph, but most of the commutes to work will have speed limits at 55.

– Ridesharing

Ridesharing has made its way to Virginia. Uber, Lyft, and many other ridesharing services are doing business in Virginia. The Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission has set up a webpage where carpoolers can be matched up with recommended ridesharers.

– Automation on the Road

Virginia allowed video, audio, and other forms of designated entertainment while a vehicle is running during automation.

This was passed in April 2016.

– Safety Road Laws in Virginia

Safety is a priority when operating a motor vehicle. We talked about rules on the road before, however, we didn’t cover impairment and distracted driving as much. Let’s explore the safety laws of Virginia regarding DUI, marijuana-impaired driving, and distracted driving laws.

– DUI Laws

DUIs are serious offenses that can lead to life-long injuries, disabilities, and death. Law enforcement and courts have to adamant with tough sentences and fines to deter this behavior as much as possible.

The blood alcohol limit in Virginia is 0.08. The highest blood alcohol limit is 0.15 to 0.20.

If you’re driving at the blood alcohol limit you will face a series of consequences. We’ve summarized these penalties in the data table below.

1st Offense - ALS or Revocation1st Offense - Imprisonment1st Offense - Fine1st Offense - Other2nd Offense - DL Revocation2nd Offense - Imprisonment2nd Offense - Fine2nd Offense - Other3rd Offense - DL Revocation3rd Offense - Imprisonment3rd Offense - Fine3rd Offense - Other
1 year, restricted permit possibleup to 1 year; if BAC 0.15-0.19, mandatory 5 days; if BAC .20+, mandatory 20 days$250 mandatory minimumVA Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) required; IID required if BAC 0.15+3 years, restricted permit possibleup to 1 year; within 5 years 1st offense, mandatory 20 day minimum; within 10 years 1st offense, mandatory 10 additional days; if BAC .20+ mandatory 20 additional days$500 mandatory minVASAP required, IID requiredindefinite, but can petition court after 5 years1-5 years; if within 5 years of 1st offense, 6 month mandatory min, if within 10 years of 1st offense, 90 day mandatory minimum$1000 mandatory minimumVASAP required, possible vehicle seizure, IID required

The first DUI offense will get your driver’s license suspended and you can face jail time. Four or more DUIs can result in felony DUI, which can lead to several years in prison.

– Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

Currently, there aren’t any marijuana-impaired driving laws in Virginia. However, if a motorist is pulled over by law enforcement for a traffic violation while under the influence of marijuana, they’re likely to get arrested.

– Distracted Driving Laws

Here’s a summary of distracted driving laws.

Hand-held banYoung drivers all cellphone banTexting banEnforcement
Drivers in highway work zonesDrivers younger than 18All driversPrimary; secondary for drivers younger than 18

The law restricts using devices while driving on Virginia roadways.

Driving in Virginia

Now that we’ve covered some of Virginia’s driving laws, let’s inspect what it’s like to drive in Virginia. This section will talk about vehicle theft data, followed by fatality crash statistics, and eventually, look at some commute times in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

– Vehicle Theft in Virginia

We all hope to avoid having our property stolen, but it occurs without warning. The data below shows the top ten vehicles make/model that’s stolen in Virginia.

Make/ModelRankYear of Vehicle# of Thefts
Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)62003144
Ford Explorer82002119
Ford Pickup (Full Size)22004205
Honda Accord12002266
Honda Civic32013200
Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee92001107
Nissan Altima52015162
Toyota Camry42014181
Toyota Corolla72013140

The Honda is indeed a popular car. Hondas have the highest rate of theft in Virginia.

– Vehicle Theft by City

Where is vehicle theft likely to occur? We can determine that by continuing with vehicle data by city.

City# of Vehicle Thefts
Abingdon9
Alexandria273
Altavista4
Amherst1
Appalachia0
Ashland6
Bedford7
Berryville1
Big Stone Gap3
Blacksburg10
Blackstone8
Bluefield1
Bridgewater0
Bristol48
Broadway0
Brookneal1
Burkeville1
Cape Charles0
Cedar Bluff1
Charlottesville71
Chase City6
Chatham0
Chesapeake250
Chilhowie0
Chincoteague2
Clarksville0
Clifton Forge3
Clintwood0
Coeburn4
Colonial Beach4
Colonial Heights15
Covington3
Crewe4
Culpeper19
Damascus1
Danville98
Dayton0
Dublin2
Dumfries6
Elkton3
Emporia5
Exmore0
Fairfax City17
Falls Church9
Farmville10
Franklin17
Fredericksburg51
Galax17
Gate City3
Glade Spring1
Glasgow0
Glen Lyn0
Gordonsville1
Gretna1
Grottoes0
Grundy1
Halifax2
Hampton332
Harrisonburg43
Haymarket1
Haysi0
Herndon9
Hillsville5
Honaker1
Hopewell57
Hurt0
Independence2
Jonesville0
Kenbridge0
Kilmarnock5
La Crosse0
Lebanon5
Lexington1
Louisa0
Luray4
Lynchburg140
Manassas39
Manassas Park11
Marion16
Martinsville21
Middleburg1
Middletown1
Mount Jackson0
Narrows0
New Market0
Newport News488
Norfolk718
Norton6
Occoquan0
Onancock2
Onley0
Orange7
Parksley0
Pearisburg3
Pembroke2
Pennington Gap0
Petersburg113
Pocahontas0
Poquoson0
Portsmouth384
Pound3
Pulaski14
Purcellville3
Quantico0
Radford6
Rich Creek1
Richlands3
Roanoke287
Rocky Mount4
Rural Retreat0
Salem44
Saltville3
Shenandoah2
Smithfield7
South Boston8
South Hill5
St. Paul2
Stanley2
Staunton18
Stephens City1
Strasburg1
Suffolk97
Tappahannock2
Tazewell2
Timberville0
Victoria1
Vienna3
Vinton13
Virginia Beach459
Warrenton5
Warsaw1
Waverly3
Waynesboro23
Weber City0
West Point2
White Stone0
Williamsburg13
Winchester23
Windsor0
Wise3
Woodstock6
Wytheville10

The three highest cities in vehicle theft are Norfolk, Newport News, and Virginia Beach.

– Road Fatalities in Virginia

The DMV of Virginia collects data involving crashes, injuries from motor vehicle accidents, and motor vehicle fatalities. These numbers become indicators for car insurance companies that are licensed to do business in Virginia.

Here’s a summary of crashes, fatalities, and injuries in 2018.

Trend DataAmount Affected by Trending Data
Crashes131,848
Fatalities819
Injuries66,523
Death Rate (per 100 million miles with 2018 estimated)0.94
Vehicles Registered8,305,633
Licensed Drivers6,056,316
Vehicular Mileage (in millions with 2018 estimated)86,968

With the assistance of medical records and police reports, the DMV of Virginia was able to determine the number of people affected by alcohol-related, speed-related, and unrestrained-related car accidents. Unrestrained refers to vehicles equipped with safety restraints. The table below does not reflect vehicles not equipped with safety restraints.

Car Accident TypeCrashesFatalitiesInjuries
Alcohol Related7,1812784,475
Speed Related25,89233913,346
Unrestrained4,6942983,513
Distracted Driving24,35012613,733
Cell Phone Related1,61810933
Passenger Involved127,98855160,176
Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) Related5,025231,209

– Most Fatal Highway in Virginia

The most fatal highway in Virginia is Highway 460. Geotab estimates that the highway sees 19 fatal crashes per year.

An estimated 1.2 per 100,000 fatal crashes occur throughout the year.

In 2018, 190 crashes and 208 fatalities occurred on Highway 460.

– Fatal Crashes by Weather Conditions and Light Conditions

Bad weather causes some fatal crashes across Virginia. We’ll review some data to show how many crashes have occurred due to weather and light conditions in 2018.

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Normal000000
Rain2715254172
Snow/Sleet102003
Other212207
Unknown39483196280701
TOTAL42499225341783

Interestingly, most fatal crashes that relate to weather are unknown, however, most fatal crashes occurred during the day.

– Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

Here is some data detailing the number of fatalities from all crashes in each county in Virginia.

CountyFatalities (2014)Fatalities Per 100,00 in Population (2014)Fatalities (2015)Fatalities Per 100,00 in Population (2015)Fatalities (2016)Fatalities Per 100,00 in Population (2016)Fatalities (2017)Fatalities Per 100,00 in Population (2017)Fatalities (2018)Fatalities Per 100,00 in Population (2018)
Accomack County1030.33618.23824.3539.21618.51
Albemarle County1615.421514.2798.461211.13109.20
Alexandria City00.0042.6042.5542.5153.11
Alleghany County532.05319.46426.01213.23320.12
Amelia County17.86323.47539.08753.99215.37
Amherst County824.88618.85515.68412.55618.95
Appomattox County426.0616.46319.34212.7416.31
Arlington County83.5452.1910.4352.1320.84
Augusta County912.18912.111925.401823.971215.90
Bath County122.0500.00122.73123.34123.30
Bedford City0000000000
Bedford County79.0967.731417.971721.731215.24
Bland County115.19115.30115.45231.49115.89
Botetourt County515.12823.99412.06412.04927.05
Bristol City15.8100.0000.0000.0016.07
Brunswick County953.49635.60742.06530.09530.52
Buchanan County312.96626.43313.56627.91523.56
Buckingham County1164.95211.75846.94741.11423.53
Buena Vista City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Campbell County916.28712.661119.92814.52814.55
Caroline County13.361033.451239.90723.001342.25
Carroll County413.46723.45620.17826.89413.50
Charles City County343.01342.61456.9900.00114.41
Charlotte County216.43757.51649.5500.00216.75
Charlottesville City00.0000.0024.2300.0012.08
Chesapeake City93.86187.65198.00187.49208.24
Chesterfield County195.72288.36257.39349.91288.03
Clarke County16.99749.15320.98320.76534.43
Clifton Forge City0000000000
Colonial Heights City00.0015.72528.5115.6600.00
Covington City117.3200.0000.0000.0000.00
Craig County00.00238.9300.0000.00239.49
Culpeper County918.27612.1159.9459.75917.35
Cumberland County110.16110.26110.28440.76110.19
Danville City24.7337.1549.6149.7537.37
Dickenson County213.03319.7316.6616.79213.77
Dinwiddie County310.681035.57931.76931.62621.03
Emporia City117.8700.0000.0000.0000.00
Essex County545.18327.03327.06327.25218.32
Fairfax City00.0000.00416.7800.0028.14
Fairfax County332.90312.72342.97342.96474.08
Falls Church City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Fauquier County913.211927.771521.80912.941926.88
Floyd County319.32319.3016.3816.34212.66
Fluvanna County311.55726.8100.00622.71414.93
Franklin City00.0000.00224.4400.0000.00
Franklin County712.44712.451628.501221.30916.02
Frederick County910.881315.571011.812225.431314.71
Fredericksburg City00.0027.1313.5227.0113.43
Galax City00.00114.7100.0000.0000.00
Giles County953.42423.8615.94529.81211.87
Gloucester County410.80513.51513.47718.76513.39
Goochland County313.73940.6228.90522.04938.72
Grayson County318.84318.80318.9100.00319.19
Greene County315.7015.2100.00315.27210.11
Greensville County760.54216.93543.19217.07325.80
Halifax County822.73925.651234.32926.06823.45
Hampton City107.2785.8785.9285.94118.19
Hanover County1716.711514.5587.671312.281816.78
Harrisonburg City00.0011.9047.4511.8647.40
Henrico County185.59185.55216.45247.34288.50
Henry County1324.891630.821325.201325.37917.66
Highland County144.6800.00145.2700.00145.25
Hopewell City29.0514.5000.0000.0000.00
Isle Of Wight County925.1025.53411.01410.9438.12
James City County56.94810.9845.411519.8822.62
King And Queen County228.23342.34228.37457.14114.20
King George County1143.54519.69623.16934.22518.81
King William County318.5816.14318.28317.96317.71
Lancaster County19.21218.48437.14327.8319.27
Lee County28.09728.51520.78312.61521.24
Lexington City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Loudoun County123.31112.94123.11215.29112.70
Louisa County38.74617.331028.32719.51924.47
Lunenburg County324.0418.11324.46540.8818.27
Lynchburg City33.8422.5211.2522.471113.39
Madison County17.67323.0017.65322.65430.09
Manassas City00.0000.0000.0024.8249.61
Manassas Park City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Martinsville City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Mathews County111.35111.31222.76222.9100.00
Mecklenburg County928.93619.40825.951032.561032.63
Middlesex County218.77218.7219.30218.79218.57
Montgomery County44.1266.1655.091313.231414.14
Nelson County213.45747.4400.00427.02853.92
New Kent County839.97839.25523.78313.83313.40
Newport News City116.06158.29179.44168.92179.52
Norfolk City218.52156.08187.32197.76166.56
Northampton County324.91324.80974.87325.24651.13
Northumberland County216.3218.17216.4018.1518.23
Norton City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Nottoway County425.80532.04532.26319.40212.97
Orange County617.18617.05616.96822.26616.37
Page County28.41312.68416.94312.63625.07
Patrick County422.01422.2815.62633.88316.98
Petersburg City39.3100.00618.9326.3213.17
Pittsylvania County1625.651930.651422.691422.822032.81
Poquoson City00.00216.6500.0000.0000.00
Portsmouth City55.2255.1988.411313.731111.62
Powhatan County517.55414.2613.52413.94517.13
Prince Edward County417.41730.28521.71730.83313.07
Prince George County616.041334.0237.92615.83615.76
Prince William County235.18112.44306.56224.75245.13
Pulaski County926.2125.8225.84926.32411.74
Radford City15.7515.7700.00211.3300.00
Rappahannock County00.0000.0000.00340.9100.00
Richmond City94.15135.89167.10219.25156.56
Richmond County111.26111.39445.67111.20222.13
Roanoke City77.0444.0199.041212.0766.00
Roanoke County44.281010.7155.3588.5355.32
Rockbridge County940.12731.28940.22835.38939.56
Rockingham County1823.111012.751215.131214.9489.85
Russell County13.56932.35621.91829.6027.48
Salem City00.0013.9300.0027.7900.00
Scott County313.32313.4929.10418.38523.22
Shenandoah County49.36716.34613.9949.24613.79
Smyth County412.67412.7339.6439.76826.25
Southampton County421.95527.59211.10422.54634.12
Spotsylvania County118.54118.471410.66129.041611.92
Stafford County53.601510.6496.2796.13149.34
Staunton City00.0014.1314.1200.0000.00
Suffolk City1213.811517.0277.841819.9455.48
Surry County114.75229.99345.78115.3300.00
Sussex County434.13325.67870.1313114.24762.29
Tazewell County49.22511.6537.12512.15922.03
Virginia Beach City296.46163.55194.21255.56378.22
Warren County819.95410.34717.90615.2537.50
Washington County814.65916.56611.06814.701120.22
Waynesboro City14.6914.6414.5914.4814.42
Westmoreland County317.20528.4900.00211.28316.83
Williamsburg City00.0000.0000.0000.0016.71
Winchester City00.0013.6413.6000.0013.56
Wise County512.53410.11615.3712.591026.31
Wythe County413.771448.11620.741034.64413.91
York County57.5157.37913.2757.3768.84

Each county or city has fluctuating numbers. More urban cities see fatalities in traffic while rural towns see more fatalities on interstates.

– Traffic Fatalities

Here are some data numbers that reflect traffic fatalities in Virginia in the past three years.

Traffic Fatalities by Areas201620172018
Rural477519471
Urban281319346
Unknown213
Total (C-1)760839820

Although rural areas have more traffic fatalities than urban areas, rural area fatalities have declined in 2018. However, urban areas have shown an increase in traffic fatalities each year.

– Fatalities by Person Type

We’ve separated data in this table to show the number of fatalities that occur by person type. In other words, we’re showing what individuals were driving per fatal accident.

Person Type# of Fatalities (2014)% of Fatalities (2014)# of Fatalities (2015)% of Fatalities (2015)# of Fatalities (2016)% of Fatalities (2016)# of Fatalities (2017)% of Fatalities (2017)# of Fatalities (2018)% of Fatalities (2018)
Passenger Car2994332343308413203833341
Light Truck - Pickup861210314811110913749
Light Truck - Utility68101031488121111311614
Light Truck - Van233243304324304
Large Truck223193263202253
Bus1000000010
Other/Unknown Occupants10181815151
Total Occupants5097258177547725977158571
Light Truck - Other0010610010
Total Motorcyclists9013791079101171410012
Pedestrian88137710122161111311814
Bicyclist and Other Cyclist122152101121121
Other/Unknown Nonoccupants4120202051
Total Nonoccupants104159412134181251513516
Total703100754100760100839100820100

Of course, passenger vehicles have the most numbers in traffic fatalities.

– Fatalities by Crash Type

Each crash is categorized by the NHTSA. See those categories and the number of fatalities below.

Crash Type20142015201620172018
Total Fatalities (All Crashes)*703754760839820
- (1) Single Vehicle436474476493477
- (2) Involving a Large Truck9071100104107
- (3) Involving Speeding99105257219241
- (4) Involving a Rollover146194163186167
- (5) Involving a Roadway Departure443492444511496
- (6) Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)164170177190168

More people died in roadway departures than single-vehicle crash fatalities in 2018.

– Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Virginia Counties

These are the top ten counties in Virginia with the highest fatality rate in the last five years.

CountyRank# of
Fatalities
in 2014
% of Total
in 2014
# of
Fatalities
in 2015
% of Total
in 2015
# of
Fatalities
in 2016
% of Total
in 2016
# of
Fatalities
in 2017
% of Total
in 2017
# of
Fatalities
in 2018
% of Total
in 2018
Chesapeake City791182193182202
Chesterfield County3193284253344283
Fairfax County1335314344344476
Fauquier County89119315291192
Hanover County917215281132182
Henrico County4183182213243283
Newport News City10112152172162172
Pittsylvania County6162193142142202
Prince William County5233111304223243
Virginia Beach City2294162193253375
Top Ten CountiesSub Total 1.*2103019526218292402925831
All Other CountiesSub Total 2.**4937055974541715997156269

Fairfax County had the most fatalities in and had the highest percent total in 2018. The county to see a drop in fatalities was Fauquier County.

– Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

The NHTSA reported fatalities that involved speeding. See more details on the data table below.

CountyFatalities (2014)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2014)Fatalities (2015)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2015)Fatalities (2016)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2016)Fatalities (2017)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2017)Fatalities (2018)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2018)
Accomack County00.0013.0439.1326.1426.17
Albemarle County00.0010.9521.8821.8643.68
Alexandria City00.0010.6510.6421.2521.25
Alleghany County16.41212.9716.5000.0000.00
Amelia County17.8600.00323.45538.5717.68
Amherst County13.1113.1426.2713.1400.00
Appomattox County00.0000.0016.4500.0016.31
Arlington County10.4420.8700.0000.0000.00
Augusta County34.0634.0456.6956.6633.98
Bath County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Bedford City0000000000
Bedford County00.0000.00810.2767.6722.54
Bland County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Botetourt County00.0000.0026.0300.0026.01
Bristol City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Brunswick County211.8900.00212.02212.04212.21
Buchanan County14.32417.6214.5229.3014.71
Buckingham County317.7100.00635.2115.87211.77
Buena Vista City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Campbell County35.4311.8159.0547.2623.64
Caroline County00.0000.00723.2826.57619.50
Carroll County13.3700.0000.00310.0913.37
Charles City County00.00114.20228.4900.0000.00
Charlotte County00.0000.00216.5200.0018.38
Charlottesville City00.0000.0012.1200.0000.00
Chesapeake City00.0020.8552.1062.5083.30
Chesterfield County30.9082.39144.1482.3330.86
Clarke County00.0000.0016.9916.92213.77
Clifton Forge City0000000000
Colonial Heights City00.0000.0015.7000.0000.00
Covington City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Craig County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Culpeper County00.0000.0011.9900.0011.93
Cumberland County110.1600.0000.00330.5700.00
Danville City00.0000.0000.0012.4400.00
Dickenson County16.5216.5800.0016.7916.89
Dinwiddie County00.0013.5627.06310.54310.52
Emporia City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Essex County19.0400.0019.0200.0000.00
Fairfax City00.0000.0014.2000.0000.00
Fairfax County70.6280.70121.05141.22181.56
Falls Church City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Fauquier County11.4722.9268.7222.88811.32
Floyd County00.0000.0000.0000.0016.33
Fluvanna County00.0027.6600.0000.0013.73
Franklin City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Franklin County00.0000.0047.1235.3300.00
Frederick County00.0022.3911.1844.6255.66
Fredericksburg City00.0000.0013.5200.0013.43
Galax City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Giles County15.9415.9600.0000.0000.00
Gloucester County00.0025.4012.6912.6812.68
Goochland County00.00522.5600.0000.0000.00
Grayson County00.0000.0016.3000.0016.40
Greene County15.2300.0000.0000.0000.00
Greensville County00.0000.00217.2818.5400.00
Halifax County12.8400.0038.5825.7925.86
Hampton City32.1832.2010.7421.4942.98
Hanover County00.0010.9754.7943.7843.73
Harrisonburg City00.0000.0000.0011.8600.00
Henrico County10.3110.3161.8400.0082.43
Henry County23.8323.8547.75611.7159.81
Highland County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Hopewell City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Isle Of Wight County25.5800.0000.0012.7300.00
James City County00.0000.0011.3533.9800.00
King And Queen County114.1100.0000.00228.5700.00
King George County27.9200.00311.58519.0127.53
King William County00.0000.00212.1915.9915.90
Lancaster County00.0000.0019.29218.5519.27
Lee County28.0914.0728.3100.0000.00
Lexington City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Loudoun County20.5520.5351.30102.5230.74
Louisa County12.9100.00719.8338.3638.16
Lunenburg County18.0100.00216.3118.1800.00
Lynchburg City00.0000.0000.0011.2333.65
Madison County00.0000.0000.0017.55322.56
Manassas City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Manassas Park City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Martinsville City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Mathews County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Mecklenburg County00.0013.2326.4939.7726.53
Middlesex County19.3900.0000.0000.00218.57
Montgomery County11.0322.0500.0055.0922.02
Nelson County00.00213.5500.0016.75426.96
New Kent County00.0014.91314.2700.0000.00
Newport News City31.6552.7673.8963.3421.12
Norfolk City52.0331.2220.8100.0072.87
Northampton County00.0018.2700.0018.4118.52
Northumberland County00.0000.0018.2000.0000.00
Norton City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Nottoway County00.0000.00319.35212.9316.49
Orange County12.8600.0025.6500.0012.73
Page County00.0000.00312.7128.4228.36
Patrick County00.0015.5700.0000.0015.66
Petersburg City00.0000.0026.3100.0013.17
Pittsylvania County11.6011.6146.4846.52711.49
Poquoson City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Portsmouth City22.0900.0044.2111.0622.11
Powhatan County00.0000.0000.0013.49413.70
Prince Edward County00.0000.0028.69417.6128.71
Prince George County00.0000.0000.0012.6412.63
Prince William County61.3520.44143.0691.94102.14
Pulaski County00.0000.0000.0012.9212.94
Radford City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Rappahannock County00.0000.0000.00113.6400.00
Richmond City00.0010.4552.2220.8862.62
Richmond County00.0000.00111.42111.2000.00
Roanoke City00.0044.0122.0133.0222.00
Roanoke County11.0700.0022.1422.1322.13
Rockbridge County28.9200.00313.4114.42313.19
Rockingham County56.4222.5556.3044.9822.46
Russell County00.0027.1913.6513.7027.48
Salem City00.0000.0000.0013.9000.00
Scott County14.4400.0000.0000.0014.64
Shenandoah County00.0000.0024.6624.6212.30
Smyth County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
South Boston City (No Longer A County Equivalent)0000000000
Southampton County15.4900.0000.0000.0000.00
Spotsylvania County00.0032.3143.0553.7764.47
Stafford County10.7221.4221.3932.0453.33
Staunton City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Suffolk City22.3011.1322.2411.1111.10
Surry County00.0000.00115.26115.3300.00
Sussex County18.5318.56543.83761.5118.90
Tazewell County00.0036.9924.7512.43512.24
Virginia Beach City61.3420.4481.7761.33153.33
Warren County00.0000.0012.5625.0800.00
Washington County11.8311.8447.3700.0047.35
Waynesboro City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Westmoreland County00.00211.4000.0000.0015.61
Williamsburg City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Winchester City00.0000.0000.0000.0013.56
Wise County25.0100.0037.6912.5937.89
Wythe County26.8913.4426.9126.9300.00
York County34.5100.0022.9511.4722.95

Western and most of central Virginia kept speed fatalities low in 2018.

– Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County

No report is complete with calculating the numbers for alcohol-impaired driver fatalities. The NHTSA also provided data by Virginia county in the table below.

County NameFatalities
(2014)
Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2014)Fatalities (2015)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2015)Fatalities (2016)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2016)Fatalities (2017)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2017)Fatalities (2018)Fatalities Per 100,000 Population (2018)
Accomack County39.1013.0439.1313.0739.26
Albemarle County54.8243.8132.8265.5710.92
Alexandria City00.0021.3010.6410.6321.25
Alleghany County16.41212.9716.50213.2300.00
Amelia County00.0017.82215.63323.1417.68
Amherst County00.0013.1426.2713.1413.16
Appomattox County00.0000.00212.8900.0000.00
Arlington County20.8820.8700.0010.4310.42
Augusta County34.0656.7379.3634.0033.98
Bath County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Bedford City0000000000
Bedford County22.6045.1578.9867.6756.35
Bland County00.00115.3000.0000.0000.00
Botetourt County13.0226.0000.0013.0100.00
Bristol City00.0000.0000.0000.0016.07
Brunswick County423.7715.9300.0000.00212.21
Buchanan County14.3214.4029.0414.6514.71
Buckingham County635.43211.75529.34211.7515.88
Buena Vista City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Campbell County23.6211.81712.6747.2600.00
Caroline County00.0026.6926.6526.57516.25
Carroll County26.7313.3513.3626.7213.37
Charles City County228.67114.20228.4900.00114.41
Charlotte County00.0018.22324.7800.0018.38
Charlottesville City00.0000.0012.1200.0000.00
Chesapeake City20.8662.5552.1052.0872.89
Chesterfield County82.4182.39113.2572.0482.30
Clarke County00.0017.0200.0000.0016.89
Clifton Forge City0000000000
Colonial Heights City00.0015.72317.1100.0000.00
Covington City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Craig County00.00238.9300.0000.00119.75
Culpeper County12.0312.0223.9711.9511.93
Cumberland County00.0000.0000.00220.3800.00
Danville City00.0012.3800.0012.4400.00
Dickenson County00.0000.0000.0016.7900.00
Dinwiddie County13.5627.11310.5927.03517.53
Emporia City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Essex County218.0700.00218.04218.1600.00
Fairfax City00.0000.0014.2000.0000.00
Fairfax County100.8840.3580.70110.96151.30
Falls Church City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Fauquier County34.4045.8557.2711.4468.49
Floyd County00.0016.4300.0016.3400.00
Fluvanna County27.7013.8300.0013.7900.00
Franklin City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Franklin County47.1123.5611.7847.1011.78
Frederick County11.2133.5911.1866.9489.05
Fredericksburg City00.0000.0013.5213.5113.43
Galax City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Giles County211.8700.0000.00211.9300.00
Gloucester County12.7038.1100.0038.0400.00
Goochland County29.15418.0500.0028.8114.30
Grayson County16.2800.00318.9100.00212.80
Greene County00.0000.0000.0015.0900.00
Greensville County217.3000.0018.6418.5400.00
Halifax County25.6838.5538.5825.7938.79
Hampton City53.6332.2010.7421.4932.23
Hanover County54.9154.8532.8732.8332.80
Harrisonburg City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Henrico County82.4941.2372.1541.2282.43
Henry County23.8347.7135.8135.8535.89
Highland County144.6800.0000.0000.0000.00
Hopewell City00.0014.5000.0000.0000.00
Isle Of Wight County38.3712.7725.5125.4700.00
James City County22.7722.7511.35911.9300.00
King And Queen County00.0000.0000.00114.2900.00
King George County311.8813.94415.44311.4100.00
King William County00.0000.0016.0915.9915.90
Lancaster County19.2100.00218.5719.2819.27
Lee County00.0028.1528.3114.2000.00
Lexington City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Loudoun County41.1041.0720.52112.7761.47
Louisa County12.9112.89616.99411.15513.60
Lunenburg County18.0118.1100.00216.3518.27
Lynchburg City00.0011.2600.0011.2333.65
Madison County00.0017.6717.6500.0017.52
Manassas City00.0000.0000.0000.0037.20
Manassas Park City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Martinsville City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Mathews County00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Mecklenburg County00.0000.00516.22413.0213.26
Middlesex County19.3919.3600.0000.0019.29
Montgomery County22.0622.0500.0044.0733.03
Nelson County16.73320.3300.0016.75426.96
New Kent County29.9929.8114.7600.0028.93
Newport News City31.6563.3242.2242.2363.36
Norfolk City104.0652.0341.6362.4520.82
Northampton County00.0018.2700.0000.0018.52
Northumberland County18.1600.0018.2000.0000.00
Norton City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Nottoway County16.4516.4116.4500.0016.49
Orange County12.8625.6825.6538.3512.73
Page County14.2014.2314.2414.2100.00
Patrick County00.00211.1400.0015.6500.00
Petersburg City26.2000.0039.4600.0013.17
Pittsylvania County46.41711.2969.7269.7869.84
Poquoson City00.0018.3200.0000.0000.00
Portsmouth City11.0411.0433.1544.2233.17
Powhatan County13.5113.5600.0013.49310.28
Prince Edward County28.7028.65313.0328.8114.36
Prince George County12.6737.8512.6412.6412.63
Prince William County51.1310.2291.9740.86112.35
Pulaski County38.7400.0000.0038.7712.94
Radford City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Rappahannock County00.0000.0000.00113.6400.00
Richmond City52.3052.2662.6631.3273.06
Richmond County00.0000.00111.4200.00111.06
Roanoke City44.0244.0144.0255.0311.00
Roanoke County11.0722.1433.2122.1311.06
Rockbridge County313.3728.9414.4728.8514.40
Rockingham County67.7011.2745.0456.2344.92
Russell County00.00310.7813.65518.5000.00
Salem City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Scott County14.4414.5029.1000.0000.00
Shenandoah County00.0012.3300.0000.0012.30
Smyth County13.1726.3700.0013.2526.56
South Boston City (No Longer A County Equivalent)0000000000
Southampton County421.95211.0400.0000.00317.06
Spotsylvania County64.6632.3153.8186.0232.23
Stafford County10.7232.1310.7053.4153.33
Staunton City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Suffolk City44.6033.4000.0033.3222.19
Surry County00.00114.99115.2600.0000.00
Sussex County217.0600.00217.53652.7218.90
Tazewell County12.3024.6612.3700.00614.69
Virginia Beach City132.9071.5530.6671.56112.44
Warren County37.4825.1725.1112.5400.00
Washington County11.8311.8411.8411.8447.35
Waynesboro City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Westmoreland County00.00211.4000.0015.6415.61
Williamsburg City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Winchester City00.0000.0000.0000.0000.00
Wise County25.0100.0012.5600.0025.26
Wythe County13.44517.1813.4626.9300.00
York County46.0111.4722.9522.9534.42

There was a two-year spike from 2015 to 2017. Alcohol-impaired fatalities increased before dropping back down in 2018.

– Teen Drinking and Driving

In Virginia, 1.1 teens per 100,000 died from alcohol-impaired related crashes. Let’s look at some data on teen DUI arrests in Virginia.

DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million PeopleRank
9751.8738

Virginia ranks 38 overall in the U.S. in teen DUI arrests.

– EMS Response Time

Virginia has some data recorded on EMS response time. The information in the data tables below shows the average response time of EMS. The first table is data from Urban EMS and the second is Rural EMS.

EMS Notification & EMS ArrivalAverage
Time of Crash to EMS Notification9.61
EMS Notification to EMS Arrival10
EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival32.54
Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival41.38
EMS Notification & EMS ArrivalAverage
Time of Crash to EMS Notification5.85
EMS Notification to EMS Arrival12.93
EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival42.30
Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival58.92

Rural EMS response time and arrival at the hospital is 20 minutes more than Urban areas. Overall, EMS response is prompt when reaching the scene of a fatal crash in both areas.

– Transportation

How is transportation in Virginia? Virginia is home to a lot of metropolitan areas and rural areas. Let’s look at more facts regarding transportation in Virginia.

– Car Ownership

Have you ever wondered how many cars most Virginia motorists owned? The table below shows the percentage of people who owned one or more cars.

Car OwnershipPercentage
No Car Owned3 %
Owned 1 Car19 %
Owned 2 Cars40 %
Owned 3 Cars23 %
Owned 4 Cars10 %
Owned 5
or More Cars
6 %

Most people in Virginia own two or more cars. The smallest percentage of people do not own a vehicle.

– Commute Time

Virginia has its share of metropolitan areas, but there are some rural communities there as well. Expect the commute times to vary by city. Here are some commute times to give you an idea about the traffic in Virginia.

State DataCommute Time (in minutes)
Virginia27
West Virginia25
Maryland32
U.S. Average26

The average commute from home to work in Virginia is 27 minutes, which higher than the U.S. average time of 25 minutes. About three percent of Virginians have commutes longer than an hour. Look at the graph below to get an idea of the average commute time in Virginia.

– Commuter Transportation

When we mention commuter transportation, we’re talking about the common method of travel in the state.

Common Method of TravelPercentage
Drove Alone78 %
Carpooled9 %
Worked at Home5%
Walked2 %
Other6 %

The preferred method of travel for Virginia motorists is to drive alone. Only two percent of people in Virginia walk as their choice of commute.

– Traffic Congestion in Virginia

Traffic congestion is likely to happen in Virginia’s metropolitan areas and highways. Expect longer than average commute time during rush hour traffic, which is 8 a. m. and 5 p. m.

City in Virginia2018 Congestion % (10/28/2018) 8 a. m.2018 Congestion % (10/28/2018) 5 p. m.2019 Congestion %
(10/28/2019) 8 a. m.
2019 Congestion %
(10/28/2019) 5 p. m.
Richmond19%25%28%37%
Virginia Beach19%30%27%29%

TomTom, a live traffic tracker, can narrow down traffic congestion to a specific day. On October 28, 2018, 8 a. m. traffic congestion in Richmond, Va. was measured at 19 percent. When we measured the traffic congestion on the same day one year later, we see that traffic congestion was increased by nine percent.

Car insurance companies take a lot of data, conditions, and economy into account when issuing rates to a driver. People around the age of 18 to 30 are more likely to get into a car accident than those who are 35 years old or older. Car insurance companies have to consider the statistic and prepare for possible high-risk drivers by charging higher rates.

Take a second to compare rates from several providers. Just enter your ZIP code in our FREE tool below.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]