FREE Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!
Oregon car insurance requirements are administered by the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and all drivers are required to have car insurance.
Any Oregon driver who gets involved in a car accident without having car insurance will have their driver’s license suspended for one year
Need a list of Oregon car insurance companies? Enter your zip code above in our free quote tool above!
Oregon Car Insurance Requirements
It is illegal to drive in the State of Oregon without car insurance and minimum requirements exist for liability insurance coverage, personal injury protection, and Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
Although Oregon does not operate under no-fault car insurance laws the State does also require PIP insurance.
The minimum Oregon car insurance requirements are:
– Liability Insurance Coverage
- $25,000 bodily injury insurance per person
- $50,000 combined bodily injury coverage for all persons per accident
- $20,000 per accident for damages to property of others
– Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $15,000 personal injury protection coverage per person for at least one year after the accident to cover necessary and reasonable health expenses
– Uninsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 in coverage for injuries per person
- $50,000 in combined coverage per accident
Any time you register a vehicle in Oregon you must certify and show proof of car insurance, however, there are some exceptions.
Collector cars, Farm Trailers, Farm Tractors, Snowmobiles, ATV’s and other types of vehicles do not require auto insurance so if you own any motorized vehicle outside of traditional passenger cars it’s wise to contact the Oregon DMV about whether or not you will need to obtain insurance.
Oregon Car Insurance Companies
Oregon is also home to many local auto insurance providers who have a very intimate knowledge of the local market. Any driver searching for an Oregon car insurance company can quickly find a long list of providers.
Oregon Car Insurance Discounts
In terms of average car insurance rates Oregon is one of the least expensive states for auto insurance.
Oregon drivers average an annual premium of $1,194.60 for most drivers almost 15 percent lower than the national average of $1,429.26.
Even with cheap car insurance rates drivers can still take advantage of many discounts such as:
- Multi-Policy discounts
- Multi-Vehicle discounts
- Safe Driver discounts
- Safe Vehicle discounts
- Affinity group discounts
- Low Mileage discounts
- Loyalty discounts
- Pay in Full discounts
- Defensive Driver Course discounts
- and more
Never settle for the first car insurance quote right away. Always compare Oregon car insurance companies, learn about discounts and make sure to compare policies based on all the details of coverage – not just the premiums.
Oregon Car Insurance Quotes
A lot of car insurance companies are cutting back on local agents and moving to an online presence so driving around looking for an Oregon car insurance company will never deliver a complete list of providers.
Start car insurance comparison online and get a list of Oregon car insurance companies from the comfort of you home.
Get your quote today with our free comparison tool below! Just enter your zip code and start comparing rates now!