Louisiana Car Insurance (Coverage, Companies, & More)
Louisiana car insurance premiums are among the most expensive in the United States, and your Louisiana car insurance rates could be higher if you're a new or high-risk driver. Read this guide for tips on keeping your Louisiana car insurance costs as low as possible and entering your ZIP code below to find affordable Louisiana car insurance quotes near you.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jun 21, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right car insurance coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our car insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different car insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|Road Miles in State||48,252|
|Number of Vehicles Registered||3,772,692|
|Most popular vehicle||F-150|
|Total Driving Related Deaths||Speeding – 177
DUI – 225
|Full Coverage Annual Premiums||Liability – $775.83
Collision – $414.36
Comprehensive – $215.17
|Cheapest Providers||USAA and State Farm|
It’s a fact: Louisiana is one of the most difficult states when it comes to finding affordable car insurance. While Louisiana’s providers and legislators work together to try to keep things reasonably priced for the average resident, you’ll still be expected to turn over a fair percentage of your disposable income if you want to stay covered in the state.
It’s environmental factors, primarily, that make car insurance in the Pelican State so expensive. Your ZIP code, demographic factors, and more can raise or lower your offered rate, depending on the car insurance provider you choose to work with.
Don’t feel as though you have to tackle this challenge on your own, though. We’re here to help.
You can use this guide to car insurance in Louisiana to better understand the hoops you’ll need to jump through to get the coverage you need. We’ll discuss available discounts, state laws, and the varieties of insurance you can choose from.
Want to start comparing rates? You can enter your ZIP code into our FREE online tool to get a better idea of what premiums are available in your area.
Louisiana Car Insurance Rates
Louisiana’s car insurance premiums are among the most expensive in the United States. This fact holds true even when you consider the discounts and programs the state makes available to its residents.
We’ll dive into the reason for these high costs later in this guide. For now, let’s take a look at coverage and rates in Louisiana to see what you have to work with.
Louisiana’s Minimum Coverage Requirements
Louisiana requires that all of its residents carry at least the state’s minimum liability coverage, which provides you with baseline coverage in case you get into an accident.
Louisiana requires that its drivers have the following:
- $15,000 in injury/death coverage for a single person
- $30,000 in injury/death coverage for more than one person
- $25,000 in coverage for property damage
You’ll need this insurance on your side if you ever get into an accident, because Louisiana is an at-fault state. This means one driver will be assigned the blame for an accident after it occurs. That driver, in turn, will be responsible for their damages and the damages of the other party.
If you’re not protected and you’re found “at-fault” for an accident, it could cost you a pretty penny.
Minimum coverage costs vary from state to state.
Average Car Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in LA
It’s often claimed that men have to pay more for car insurance because they’re reckless drivers, though some people say it’s the other way around women pay more. As you can see below, neither claim is always correct.
|Companies||Married 60-year-old female||Married 60-year-old male||Married 35-year-old female||Married 35-year-old male||Single 25-year-old female||Single 25-year-old male||Single 17-year-old female||Single 17-year-old male||Average Rate (over 17)||Average Rate (17-year-olds)||The Difference|
In fact, age has more of an influence on how much you pay for car insurance. Teenagers, regardless of their gender, have to pay more for their coverage than middle-aged adults do.
What are the cheapest ZIP codes in Louisiana?
It’s not just age and gender that can impact the premium you’re offered. Your ZIP code can also have a significant impact on your initial rate, as you can see in the following table, which lists the 25 ZIP codes in Louisiana with the lowest rates:
|Zip Code||25 Lowest Rates by Zip Code in LA|
If you want to avoid paying high car insurance rates, try to live outside these 25 ZIP codes:
|Zip Codes||25 Most Expensive Rates by Zip Code in LA|
As you might expect, urban ZIP codes play host to higher premiums than rural ZIP codes. That said, this is a statewide display of Louisiana’s notoriously high car insurance premiums.
What are the cheapest rates by city in Louisiana?
Your offered car insurance rate will also vary based on the city you live in. Here’s what people are paying in the cities of Louisiana.
These are the ZIP codes with the cheapest rates:
|Cities||Average Annual Car Insurance Rates by City in LA|
|Pointe A La Hache||$7,254.34|
As was the case with ZIP codes, urban centers like Baton Rouge play host to higher premiums than their urban peers.
What are forms of financial responsibility in Louisiana?
In addition to minimum liability coverage (or better), you’re going to need to carry forms of financial responsibility with you while you drive. These forms prove to any law enforcement officers who might pull you over that you have the insurance necessary to legally drive on the road.
Louisiana takes this policy one step further, though. The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles refuses to allow drivers to register their vehicles unless they submit forms of financial responsibility, otherwise known as proof of insurance.
Proof of insurance in Louisiana includes:
- An insurance card
- A copy of your insurance policy
- A copy of your policy declaration page
- Unencumbered negotiable securities worth a minimum of $30,000
- A surety bond worth $30,000
- A statement from your insurer that is printed on company letterhead and signed by your insurance agent or a company representative. It must also contain an accurate description of the vehicle you are presently driving, along with its VIN.
How much percentage of income are premiums in Louisiana?
Louisiana residents make an average of $37,787 per year. This is the state’s average annual per capita disposable income. A percentage of your income goes to your utilities, groceries, entertainment, and so on. Another portion, however, needs to go toward your car insurance.
In Louisiana, residents pay an average of $1,364 for their car insurance annually. This means they’ll pay an average of $125 a month to remain insured.
The percentage of their annual salary going toward car insurance — 3.6 percent — is the highest in the United States, with the state of Michigan coming in second.
In short, if you’re thinking of moving to Louisiana, make sure that your per capita disposable income will cover your car insurance without forcing you to sacrifice other necessities.
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in LA (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Don’t think that minimum liability coverage is your only option when it comes to car insurance in Louisiana. You’ll be able to choose from a variety of plans, including those detailed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners:
- Liability – $775.83
- Collision – $414.36
- Comprehensive – $215.17
- Combined – $1,405.36
Note that the national average for full coverage comes in at $1,009.38. As you can see, Louisiana’s average annual cost for full coverage blows that number out of the water by just under $400.
What additional liability is available in Louisiana?
So you might be thinking: if car insurance in Louisiana is so expensive, why would I invest in a plan that exceeds the state’s minimum liability requirements?
Remember, Louisiana is an at-fault state. If you’re in an accident that is deemed your fault, you could end up paying a lot of money for expensive repairs and medical costs. That’s why additional liability coverage, like the options listed below, may come in handy.
|Years||Medical Payments (Med Pay)||Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist|
The table above details the loss ratios for MedPay and uninsured/underinsured coverage. Loss ratios show us the frequency with which different car insurance providers pay out on their drivers’ claims.
The higher the loss ratio, the more likely it is that a company will pay out on your claim. However, very high loss ratios (any number nearing 100) indicate that a company is paying out on so many claims, they may be approaching financial instability.
On the flip side, a car insurance company (or form of coverage) with a lower loss ratio suggests companies are reluctant to pay out on claims, which could be a problem for you if you have to file one.
In most situations, you’ll want to work with a provider (and choose a coverage type) that has a loss ratio between 60 and 70 percent.
What add-ons, endorsements, and riders are available in Louisiana?
You can explore additional, optional coverage by considering the add-ons below:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-As-You-Drive (Usage-Based Insurance)
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best Louisiana Car Insurance Companies
As you start your car insurance research, you’ll probably have a good idea of what companies you’re considering. Let’s break down the data released by the top 10 car insurance providers operating in Louisiana so you can see what your options are in more detail.
What are the financial ratings of the largest car insurance companies in Louisiana?
Let’s lay the groundwork by taking a look at companies’ financial ratings, as released by A.M. Best. You can see the array of ratings in the table below:
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+|
|Amtrust NGH Group||Not Rated (NR)|
|Goauto Insurance Co||Not Rated (NR)|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A|
|Safeway Insurance Group||A|
|Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Group||A+|
|State Farm Group||A++|
Geico, State Farm, and USAA all scored the highest possible rating from A.M. Best.
Which car insurance companies have the best ratings in Louisiana?
But what do drivers think? Let’s dive into a report released by J.D. Power to see how the Big 10 rank in terms of customer service:
|Alfa Insurance||855||4-Better than most|
|Auto-Owners Insurance||852||4-Better than most|
|Erie Insurance||870||4-Better than most|
|Farm Bureau Insurance - Tennessee||888||5-Among the best|
|KY Farm Bureau||830||3-About average|
|Liberty Mutual||809||2-The Rest|
|National General||820||2-The Rest|
|Southeast Average||841||3-About average|
|State Farm||853||4-Better than most|
|USAA (for military members and their families only)||878||5-Among the best|
Once again, Geico rises to the top of the chart in Louisiana.
Which car insurance companies have the most complaints in Louisiana?
Customer complaints are also worth considering. While complaints don’t always dictate a company’s value, they can reveal a car insurance provider’s weaknesses. With that in mind, take a look at the table below:
|Companies||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share||Number of Complaints||Complaint Index|
|Allstate Property & Casulty||$334,999,133||7.43%||25||0.343496|
|Louisiana Farm Bureau||$224,526,282||4.98%||25||0.512505|
|Allstate Insurance Co||$126,806,438||2.81%||41||1.488225|
GoAuto has the highest complaint index in Louisiana. This means the number of complaints they receive far exceeds what you would expect for the company based on its market share. State Farm received a lot of complaints, but its market share is very large, so its complaint index number is significantly smaller than GoAuto’s.
What are the cheapest car insurance companies in Louisiana?
Finding a cheap rate in Louisiana is tough. That said, some companies are charging more reasonable rates than others, as you can see below:
|Companies||Average Annual Rates||Compared to State Average||Percentage Separation|
USAA, in particular, offers drivers rates that are up to $1,000 cheaper than the state’s national average. However, USAA only insures current or former members of the military and their families. So if you can’t do business with them, State Farm Mutual Auto looks like your next best option.
Does my commute affect my car insurance rate in Louisiana?
There’s a good chance the distance of your work commute is going to impact your car insurance rate, as you can see below:
|Companies||10-Mile commute / |
6,000 annual mileage
|25-mile commute /
12,000 annual mileage
The good news is that most rates don’t fluctuate by much based solely on this factor. Allstate will probably not adjust your rate based on commute at all.
Can coverage level change my car insurance rate with companies in Louisiana?
Your chosen level of coverage is going to impact the amount you’re expected to pay.
|Companies||Low Coverage||Medium Coverage||High Coverage|
Naturally, if you want a higher level of coverage, you’ll have to pay for it.
How does my credit history affect my car insurance rate with companies in Louisiana?
Your credit history reflects your ability to pay back the money you owe to different organizations. Car insurance providers are going to take your credit history into account when offering you a rate.
|Companies||Good Credit||Fair Credit||Poor Credit|
In this case, poor credit can cost you up to $4,000 compared to what you’d pay with good credit, depending on the provider you chose to work with.
How does my driving record change my rates with car insurance companies in Louisiana?
Your driving history reflects both your knowledge of the rules of the road and your ability and willingness to follow them.
|Companies||Clean record||One Speeding Ticket||One Accident||One DUI|
As you might guess, high-risk drivers are charged more for their coverage than low-risk drivers, since it’s assumed they’ll be more likely to file a claim.
Which car insurance companies are the largest in Louisiana?
With all of that in mind, who has the biggest chunk of the pie in Louisiana?
|Companies||Market Share||Loss Ratio||Domestic Gross|
|Southern Farm Bureau Casualty||5.13%||70.01%||$231,086|
As you can see, State Farm takes up a whole third of the market share in Louisiana, with the other car insurance providers operating in the state divvying up what remains. This doesn’t mean that State Farm is the best provider in the state, but it does seem to suggest that it is the most popular.
How many car insurance companies are available in Louisiana?
There are two types of insurers operating in Louisiana: domestic and foreign. Domestic providers are providers who solely operate within the state. Comparatively, foreign providers operate nationally or even internationally. Take a look at the divide in the table below:
There are more foreign car insurance providers operating in Louisiana than there are domestic ones. That said, you shouldn’t base the value of a company on its reach, but on whether it can serve your needs (and fit your budget).
Compare Car Insurance Companies
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
We’ve touched on some of the personal factors that may raise or lower your car insurance premium. State legislation, though, will have a more significant impact on your premiums.
Car Insurance Laws
Laws are important to familiarize yourself with. Not knowing the laws in your state could result in committing a serious mistake that could cost you a driver’s license. Let’s take a look at the kind of coverage available to you, and what legislation the state has in place to keep drivers on the straight and narrow.
How State Laws for Insurance are Determined
Louisiana is a direct action state. This means injured passengers don’t have to allow the driver responsible for an action to take care of their expenses. Instead, that passenger can sue the at-fault driver’s car insurance provider for their damages.
The law allowing for this redirection was established in 1928. Nowadays, it’s so ingrained in Louisiana’s driving culture that it’s exceptionally difficult to discuss, let alone repeal.
This legal ability does prevent at-fault drivers from having to bear the brunt of an accident’s expenses. However, it also motivates car insurance providers to charge drivers more for their coverage.
That said, there are ways for Louisiana drivers to save on their car insurance. The state’s “No Pay, No Play” law made “economic-only” coverage available to drivers, or coverage that’s functionally similar to uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Unfortunately, this coverage only takes care of hard dollar damages. These types of damages include:
- Property damage
- Wages lost in an accident
- Medical bills
If you incur any other expenses after getting into an accident while operating under this type of coverage, you’re going to have to see them yourself.
The state of Louisiana does not legally require its car insurance providers to cover any windshield damage that drivers may incur while on the road.
If you want to be protected in case of windshield damage, discuss this coverage option with any provider you consider doing business with.
That said, Louisiana law does require insurance providers to offer aftermarket crash parts to drivers who’ve been in an accident, as long as the applicable deductible does not exceed $250.
If you happen to have a DUI or a significant number of points on your license, you’re in luck. The Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan is in place to help those considered high-risk drivers by most insurance companies.
This plan operates through a company called AIPSO, and while they will not take responsibility for your behavior, they will ensure that you have the state minimum liability coverage, regardless of your driving history.
Louisiana does not currently have a car insurance program for low-income families, as some states do. However, drivers can seek out discounts to make the cost of insurance more bearable.
Be sure to ask your provider of choice if you or your family are eligible for any of the following discounts:
- Accident-Free Discount
- Affiliation Discount (this would be any discounts through your employer, school, team, etc.)
- Anti-Theft Discounts (i.e. if you have alarms, tracking systems, etc. on your vehicle)
- Auto-Pay Discounts (granted if you set up automatic payments; some providers refer to it as a Paper-Saving Discount)
- Good Student Discount
- Homeowner’s Discount
- Multi-Car Discount
- Green/Hybrid Car Discount (if you own/lease a hybrid or electric vehicle)
Be sure you shop around to find the best coverage for you that is equally cost-effective.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Louisiana
It’s difficult to commit insurance fraud by accident. That said, the insurance industry sees 10 percent of its operating costs go to processing fraudulent claims or accounts over the course of a year.
There are two different types of automobile insurance fraud.
- Hard fraud involves a driver deliberately falsifying a claim or faking an accident in order to receive compensation.
- Soft fraud involves a driver padding a claim or misrepresenting accident information to an insurance provider.
Soft fraud is the more common of these two types of fraud.
Though you may think you’re just telling a white lie, soft fraud is considered a misdemeanor, and lying on your claim is considered a Class 5 felony.
Statute of Limitations
Each state has a statute of limitations that you need to be aware of in case you get into an accident. A statute of limitations details the amount of time you have after an accident to file a claim with your car insurance provider.
In Louisiana, you have one year from the date of the accident to file a claim if you want your car insurance provider to help you pay for any property damage or personal injuries.
We’ve already touched on the details of Louisiana’s state-specific “No Pay, No Play” policy. Beyond this policy, the state’s car insurance and roadway laws are not so different from those in other states.
What are the vehicle licensing laws in Louisiana?
Now that you know a little more about how claims in Louisiana work, let’s take a look at legislation that applies to licensing.
REAL ID is a federal program being fully implemented in 2020. All Louisiana drivers — and drivers throughout the United States — will need to have a REAL ID to get on a plane, be it a domestic or international flight.
You don’t need a REAL ID to drive, but if you are planning on taking a flight, it is a good idea to have one.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
If car insurance in Louisiana is so expensive, wouldn’t it be easier for you to drive without it?
Absolutely not. The state’s “No Pay, No Play” plan actually puts all drivers in Louisiana without car insurance in debt from the get-go. The law states that “anyone caught driving without insurance in Louisiana will automatically owe $25,000 in property damage and $15,000 in personal damages to any person they get into an accident with.”
The last thing you want to do, upon moving to Louisiana, is find yourself in debt. That, partnered with the increased safety you’ll have when driving with insurance, is all the reason you should need to speak with the state’s various car insurance providers.
Teen Driving Laws
Many teenagers look forward to the first day they can get behind the wheel of a car. Louisiana’s teenagers can start driving at the age of 15. That said, they’ll have to make their way through a licensing gauntlet to eventually become legal on the road.
You can explore the different types of Louisiana licenses, age requirements, passenger limitations, and time restrictions in the table below:
|Young Driver Licensing Laws||Age Restrictions||Passenger Restrictions||Time Restrictions|
|Learner's Permit||15; Obtain a temporary instruction permit (TIP) from the OMV; completion of driver education course; TIP is exchanged for a learner's permit||No more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m.; no passenger restriction from 5 a.m. to 6 p.m.||11 p.m.–5 a.m.|
|Provisional License||Six months holding period; 50 hours, 15 of which must be at night||No more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6 p.m. and 5 a.m.; no passenger restriction from 5 a.m. to 6 p.m.||11 p.m.–5 a.m.|
|Full License||16||Lifted at age 17||Lifted at age 17|
As you can see, new drivers must comply with the restrictions placed on them by each incremental license until they’re deemed responsible enough drivers to take to the road with their adult peers.
If you’ve recently moved to Louisiana, make sure you complete the following tasks within 20 days of taking up residency:
- Obtain a Louisiana driver’s license
- Purchase an auto insurance policy
- Register your car with the local OMV
License Renewal Procedures
Once you receive a full license, you’re going to need to renew it on a consistent cycle. As you can see in the table below, non-teenage drivers and drivers younger than 70 years old will need to renew their licenses every six years.
|Age of Driver||License renewal cycle||Mail or online renewal permitted||Proof of adequate vision required at renewal|
|Under 70||6 years||Both, every other renewal||When renewing in person|
|70 and older||6 years||Not permitted||Every renewal|
Louisiana will also make renewal exceptions for drivers who have a medical disability on record. These drivers will need to have a physician-certified documentation submitted alongside their renewal so as to continue operating legally on the road.
Older Driver License Renewal
Drivers older than 70 years old are not able to renew their licenses over the internet or through the mail. Instead, they’ll need to submit proof of vision at every renewal in-person. Older drivers will also have to have their licenses renewed on a four-year cycle.
What are the rules of the road in Louisiana?
Now that we have legalities out of the way, we can take a look at what the everyday rules of the road in the Pelican State look like.
Fault vs No-Fault
As we previously mentioned, Louisiana is an at-fault state. The driver who is determined to be responsible for the accident in question will be responsible for all of the costs of that accident. Again, though, the complexities of “No Pay, No Play” challenge the straightforward nature of that process.
Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
In Louisiana, all drivers and passengers are required to wear seat belts, and this law is under primary enforcement, meaning a police officer can pull you over just because they see you’re not strapped in.
Things get a little more complicated when it comes to child passengers.
To start: children who weigh less than 60 pounds or who are younger than 5 years old will need to be in an appropriate car seat. If they’re not, and you’re spotted by law enforcement, you may have to pay a fine of up to $100.
After a child turns 6 or passes 60 pounds in weight, Louisiana law states that they can sit in a passenger seat unaided. However, neither children nor adults are permitted to ride in the cargo area of a pickup truck, with the following exceptions:
- Passengers older than 12 years old, not riding on a major highway
- Passengers in a parade driving at speeds below 15 mph
- Anyone, if a state-wide or local emergency has been declared
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
If you’re driving slower than the posted speed limit or if you’re not looking to pass a car in front of you, then Louisiana law dictates you must remain in the right-hand lane of the interstate.
You must also move over for vehicles that have their lights flashing, regardless of whether they’re clearly marked as emergency vehicles. These vehicles include but are not limited to:
- Police cruisers
- Tow trucks
- Recovery vehicles
Across Louisiana, these are the maximum speed limits, unless otherwise posted:
- Rural areas – 75 mph
- Urban areas – 70 mph
- Limited access roads – 70 mph
- All other roads – 65 mph
The rise of Uber and Lyft have made it easier than ever for people to get to the places they need to go. These companies have also created a new industry for drivers across the United States. If you currently work with either company or one of their competitors, or if you decide to start in the future, you’ll need to get rideshare insurance.
What are the safety laws in Louisiana?
Finally, let’s take a peek at the legislation and consequences in place that are meant to keep Louisiana drivers safer on the road.
Compared to many other states, Louisiana has fairly lax DUI laws. Take a look at the table below to get a better idea of what kinds of consequences you could face if you drink and drive in the Pelican State:
|Penalty||First Offense||Second Offense||Third Offense||Fourth and Subsequent Offenses|
|License Suspension||One year/hBAC two years||Two years/hBAC four years||Three years||vehicle seized|
|Imprisonment||48 hours in jail + up to six months OR fine; up to two years probation||48 hours+||One to five years w/ or w/o hard labor||10–30 years, two years served w/o suspension or parole + home incarceration for at least one year|
|Fine||$300–$1000 + $100 reinstatement fee||$750–$1000 + $200 reinstatement fee||$2000 + $300 reinstatement fee||$5000 + $300 reinstatement fee|
|Other||30 hours reeducation, 32+ hours community service, half must be street garbage pickup||Possible 30 days community service +reeducation requirements of first DWI||30 days community service, evaluation for addictive disorder, IID, probation and home incarceration for any part of suspended sentence||40 days community service|
The consequences for driving while intoxicated in Louisiana are, compared to other states’, oddly forgiving. That said, you have no excuse for taking to the road if you’ve had a number of drinks over the course of the evening.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
The aforementioned DUI laws also apply to drivers who are pulled over for driving while driving under the influence of marijuana or other affiliated drugs.
Distracted Driver Laws
Louisiana’s legislation regarding handheld devices states that:
- Handheld bans apply to all drivers in signed school zones
- Learners’ permit holders and intermediate license holders cannot use their cellphones while behind the wheel of a car
- Drivers under the age of 18 cannot legally use a cellphone while driving, even if the cellphone is projecting through the car’s speakers or is connected to the car via Bluetooth
- Anyone driving a car for the first time cannot use their cellphone for the first year of operation, regardless of their age
Drivers who are older than 18 or who have been driving for more than a year are treated with a touch more leniency. Cellphone use for these drivers is considered a secondary offense, meaning law enforcement will need another reason to pull the vehicle over, even if they spot the driver using a cellphone behind the wheel.
Driving in Louisiana
Now that you have a better idea of what road laws in Louisiana look like, let’s dive into roadway safety. What’s it like driving around Louisiana, and what should you look out for?
How many vehicle thefts occur in Louisiana?
It’s not just sports cars that get stolen by car thieves. In Louisiana, your pickup is far more likely to go missing, as you can see based on this list of the top 10 vehicles most frequently stolen in the state:
|Vehicle||Number of Thefts (2016)|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||671|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||222|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||584|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||253|
If you’re worried about your car being stolen, consider investing in a safety alert system. At a minimum, take care to lock your car doors when you park on the street.
Your location also impacts the likelihood of your car being stolen. Some cities in Louisiana, as you can see in the table below, are more prone to grand theft auto than others:
|Cities||Number of Stolen Cars|
Naturally, urban areas like New Orleans see more traffic. and as a result, more theft.
How many road fatalities occur in Louisiana?
Let’s touch on another not-so-cheery topic: roadway fatalities. Louisiana has a rate of 11.19 road fatalities for every 100,000 people in the state, and these fatal accidents happen for all kinds of reasons. Let’s take a closer look so you know when to use extra caution while driving in the Pelican State.
Most Fatal Highway in Louisiana
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Louisiana’s U.S. 90 is the most dangerous highway in the state, with an average of 27 fatal accidents per year. This makes sense, as it is the most popular roadway in the state.
If you drive on this highway a lot, be careful, stay aware, and drive defensively.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
There are many different types of fatalities, but where do they primarily take place?
|East Baton Rouge||50||43||52||69||66|
|St. John the Baptist||8||8||10||8||13|
|West Baton Rouge||11||9||5||12||12|
As you may have guessed, urban counties see more fatalities than their rural cousins. That said, trends have been shifting over the past five years, resulting in a data shift.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition
Different weather and light conditions can impact the way drivers operate on the road. Take a look at how these factors relate to the fatality rate in Louisiana:
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
As you can see, fatal accidents spike at night in Louisiana. That’s all the more reason to be especially careful when you take to the road after sunset.
The location also impacts the likelihood of a car accident, as you can see in the table below:
Fatalities by Person Type
It’s also worth taking a look at who is most likely to be involved in a fatal accident. “Person type” here refers to a person’s relationship to a vehicle as opposed to any other demographic statistics.
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||529|
As you can see, drivers and passengers of enclosed vehicles are the most likely to be involved in a fatal accident, which makes sense, as this category makes up the majority of the people on the road at any given time.
Fatalities by Crash Type
Here are the types of accidents that are most likely to be fatal:
|Involving a Roadway Departure||421|
|Involving a Rollover||204|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||141|
|Involving a Large Truck||102|
The vast majority of fatalities in Louisiana can be attributed to single vehicles, though an equivalent number occur when a vehicle departs from the road.
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties
The table below shows the 10 counties in Louisiana that had the highest number of fatal accidents over a five-year period:
|East Baton Rouge||41||50||43||52||65|
Rural accidents in Louisiana have been on the decline over the past five years, but unfortunately, urban fatalities have spiked.
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Speeding can seem like a harmless driving habit once you start doing it regularly. However, accidents that happen at high speeds are more likely to be deadly. Louisiana sees quite a few speed-related fatalities over the course of a year, as you can see in the table below:
As you can see, it’s tempting to push your car to go a little faster than the posted speed limit. However, speeding results in far more accidents in Louisiana than it should. Take it slow, especially as the weather gets worse. The other drivers on the road will thank you for your diligence.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver
Louisiana’s DUI laws are somewhat lenient, especially compared to those seen elsewhere in the United States. That leniency, as you might guess, has done nothing to reduce the drinking-related fatalities the state sees in a year:
|East Baton Rouge||19|
Again, urban areas, like East Baton Rouge Parish and Orleans Parish, see the bulk of these accidents. If you’re out on the town, that’s all the more reason to call a ridesharing service when you want to go home.
Teen Drinking and Driving
The table in the previous section does not touch on the number of teenagers who get into fatal accidents after drinking. Unfortunately, Louisiana arrests more intoxicated teenage drivers than any other state in the nation, as you can see in the table below:
|Teens and Drunk Driving||Data|
|Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K Population||1.3|
|Higher/Lower Than National Average (1.2)||Higher|
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 Years Old)||32|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 Years Old) Total per Million People||28.73|
The lesson here? Teach your kids that they don’t need to drink to have fun. Drinking and driving at any age can prove dangerous — not just for the driver, but for everyone on the road.
EMS Response Time
The good news is that emergency services in Louisiana can attend to an accident quickly and effectively. Take a look at EMS arrival times in the table below:
|Location Type||Time of Crash to Notification||Arrival Time to Crash Site||Arrival Time to Hospital||Time of Crash to Hospital|
|Rural||5 minutes||14 minutes||45 minutes||1 hour, 3 minutes|
|Urban||4 minutes||8 minutes||33 minutes||35 minutes|
As you might have guessed, EMS drivers will be able to reach the scene of an accident in the city more quickly than they can reach one in a rural area. Regardless of where you are when you get into an accident, though, EMS should be at your side in under 15 minutes.
What is transportation like in Louisiana?
What kind of traffic should you expect to deal with on an average day in Louisiana? Let’s break down the numbers and find out.
As is the case with most states, Louisiana homeowners frequently keep two cars in their garages. If they do not own two cars, Louisiana households are next most likely to own one, followed by three cars.
Commutes aren’t too bad in Louisiana. The average commute lasts 24.2 minutes, which is a little shorter than the national average, 25.3 minutes. That said, 2.88 percent of Louisiana residents have to commit to the super commute — a commute that lasts longer than 90 minutes, both ways around. Thank goodness we live in the age of the podcast, right?
As you might expect, most drivers in Louisiana prefer to make their way to and from work on their own. That said, roughly 10 percent of residents do carpool with their coworkers, reducing their gas consumption as they go.
Traffic Congestion in Louisiana
With so many single drivers on the road, you might expect Louisiana to have a high rate of roadway congestion. Luckily, this isn’t the case in most of the state. According to the INRIX Scorecard, however, New Orleans is a city worthy of your concern. It ranks at number 137 on the INRIX’s list, with 74 hours of each driver’s time lost to congestion every year.
Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Before making any final decisions on your insurance company, it is important to learn as much as you can about your local insurance providers, and the coverages they offer. Call your local insurance agent to clear up any questions that you might have. Questions to consider asking include, “What is the best coverage plan for me/my family/my situation?” “What are the minimum coverage requirements in my state and what form of coverage do you recommend?” “Do you guys offer any bundle discounts if I take out both my auto insurance and home insurance with you?” and “What is the average rate of insurance quotes you guys offer?”
Before making any big insurance decisions, use our free tool to compare insurance quotes near you. It’s simple, just plug in your zip code and we’ll do the rest!
Now that you know a little more about driving in Louisiana, you should be able to take to the roads — and go about your car insurance shopping — with confidence. If you want to start comparing rates in your area today, just enter your ZIP code into our FREE online tool!
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.